Life is Like a Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich

by Carole Brownpb n jelly sand free

One of my favorite memories is the peanut butter and jelly sandwiches I devoured and that were a part of our growing-up dietary food.

Today, I don’t devour them as much, but truly they are a healthy combination, especially for active children and grownups. Even though the jelly has sugar, they are still nutritious. Here’s a hint of their benefits:

  • the combination of peanut butter and bread provides protein,
  • B vitamins,
  • iron and
  • zinc.
  • Peanut butter is also a good choice for healthy unsaturated fats.

Nice, huh?

They are:

  • a simple food to prepare
  • delicious
  • healthy

Just like the peanut butter and jelly sandwich, I contend that simple pleasures in life are still the best.

  • As a child, I climbed the trees, stared into their lofty branches and wondered at the world. Today, I refrain from climbing the trees, but still stroll beneath them and enjoy staring into the tree tops.
  • As a child, I flung myself full bodied into a pile of fallen Autumn leaves. Today, I kick at them and crunch them beneath my feet, enjoying the sights and sounds of October.forest moose fog free
  • Then and now, I allow my imagination full rein as I gave at the fields and valleys soaked with mist and rays of early morning sunshine, and wonder what is and what can be.
  • Then I wondered what was ahead, but mostly enjoyed life as it came. Today, I marvel at what all life holds, the privileges I have, the pleasures that come my way, and the blessing of another day.

With simple pleasures, you don’t have to strain or put forth extraordinary power or strength or ability to create them. They are there for your enjoyment. God created most of them for humans in our world, and to take advantage of them both shows our appreciation of life and earth and all that God has given us and also gives us a few moments of rest, relaxation and peace of mind.

Today, I’m sitting on one of my porches, rocking, enjoying the cool air and reading a devotion. How will you remember this day?

What is the most enjoyable and/or memorable simple pleasure you can remember?

  • Time alone at a secluded cabin?
  • a special vacation with a friend or family?
  • A dinner out that was the highlight of your life?
  • A walk in the woods?

watch- free

 

Today, while there is still time, take a few minutes and enjoy one–or two–simple pleasures in your life.

This entry was posted in Author Carole Brown, Life Sharpeners by Carole Brown. Bookmark the permalink.

About Carole Brown

Besides being a member and active participant of many writing groups, Carole Brown enjoys mentoring beginning writers. She loves to weave suspense and tough topics into her books, along with a touch of romance and whimsy, and is always on the lookout for outstanding titles and catchy ideas. She and her husband reside in SE Ohio but have ministered and counseled nationally and internationally. Together, they enjoy their grandsons, traveling, gardening, good food, the simple life, and did she mention their grandsons?

2 thoughts on “Life is Like a Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich

  1. One of my favorite memories is sitting by the pool listening to my kids splash about in would abandonment. Still love going to the pool with my kids (24 and 19) but I miss their childhood conversations. Loved the post!

Leave a Reply

