Faith as a Mustard Seed

by Carole Brownmustard-seeds free

How big is a mustard seed?

How big is your faith?

My aunt and cousin had died, and we didn’t find out about it until several weeks later. It was such a horrific and sad situation that I felt absolutely pounded by the event. Depression set in, and the enemy of my soul delighted in taking advantage of my mental and spiritual doubts. On top of that, I was struggling with misunderstandings from dear people I loved. Needless to say, my faith wavered.

  • Yes, I knew God was real.Bible free
  • Yes, I knew he answered prayer
  • Yes, I knew he loved me.

I knew these things, but I didn’t feel them. I cried and prayed. I read scripture and clasped hold on them. I sought council and encouragement from both my hubby and oldest son. I wept with discouragement over not being able to overcome the feelings that kept swarming over me.

But I held on. And on. And on. Gradually, as months passed, I felt the load easing. Healing and spiritual growth came from those extreme feelings of doubt and mstard field freehurt. God patiently and gently loved me into a height of faith I’d never experienced before. I knew that–though I never would claim to be an amazon warrior–I could be a simple and faith-filled soldier for God–if only I would keep my hand in his and hold on tight. Whatever happened in my life, God would see me through. My mustard seed faith had sprouted!

At church recently, the song leader felt led to lead us in some old fashion songs. The words spoke to my heart:person rejoicing free

  • God will Take Care of You
  • Trust and Obey
  • I Need Thee Every Hour

Oh, how true. God will take care of me if I only trust and obey…because I certainly do need him every hour of every day. 

Have you ever felt your faith wavering? How did you overcome those feelings?

Hang on, even if your faith is only mustard seed size!

This entry was posted in Author Carole Brown, Devotions, Sharpened By the Word, Uncategorized by Carole Brown. Bookmark the permalink.

About Carole Brown

Besides being a member and active participant of many writing groups, Carole Brown enjoys mentoring beginning writers. She loves to weave suspense and tough topics into her books, along with a touch of romance and whimsy, and is always on the lookout for outstanding titles and catchy ideas. She and her husband reside in SE Ohio but have ministered and counseled nationally and internationally. Together, they enjoy their grandsons, traveling, gardening, good food, the simple life, and did she mention their grandsons?

4 thoughts on “Faith as a Mustard Seed

  1. Beautiful reminder. When my hubby was so seriously ill I went through a period of having to just hang on. With strong family support and lots of prayers I was able to rise above it.

    • Oh, Ann, it is so hard sometimes. Thank God we have him for support…and the love and help from friends and family! Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

