Interviewing Multi-Published Author Lisa Lickel

by Tamera Lynn Kraft

Today, I’m interviewing Lisa Lickel. Lisa helped me a great deal with plot points and quilting info while I was writing Alice’s Notions. What was your favorite part of Alice’s Notions?

As a historian, I’m the nerdy one who adores and gets lost in research. I loved learning more about some of the things going on in the background of the government during the end of World War II and the start of the Cold War. Some of the facts we discovered about the setting, such as the DuPont factory, and how you worked so much pop culture into the events were thrilling. I suppose my favorite part of the story should be the quilts, but I really loved Alice and Rick’s adventures, getting themselves into and out of trouble.

You were a vast resource of information about quilting. Tell us a little about how you got started quilting and what you love about it.

Like you, I had a grandmother who was an inspiration to me. I would visit the farm while I was growing up, fascinated with the differences between city life and working farm life. She was a quilter, and showed me her methods. I have the first and last quilts she made. Piece in the summer and quilt in the winter was her wisdom. I love quilting because once I get the pieces planned and cut, I can sit and make squares while watching a movie or listening to the radio.

You are a multi-published author. Tell us a little about your newest book.

My newest book will be the upcoming release, Centrifugal Force, a sequel to Meander Scar, a romance about an older woman and younger man which won a Grace Award back in 2011. It took a long time for me to develop Centrifugal Force around an obituary I happened to see and cut out. I knew the man in the obituary was just like the main character in my story, but I wasn’t ready to write the story until about three years ago when my writer’s group helped me brainstorm. I spent a year on the manuscript with the help of the group and my crit partner. The story is about the main character from Meaner Scar, Ann Michel’s sister, Rachel. In Centrifugal Force, we learn how Rachel, the goody two-shoes, ended up raising a child as a single mom. When her daughter Maeve finally has her life together, superstar international academic Gervas Friedemann, Maeve’s father, shows up seeking a priceless artifact Rachel once took in revenge. It’s also the story of Gervas’s secret quest to find a cure for his oldest daughter’s genetic condition, which forces him to accept responsibility for a past he cannot change, but a future he’s desperate to save. Caveat: I wrote this book before Brexit. Centrifugal Force should release in September.

What are you working on now?

I’m working on a sandwich story from my Love Is novella, Everything About You. This short romance, Post Production, is the story of how Danny and Shelly decide to follow through on their whirlwind love on the movie set. Danny’s business is going up in flames while Shelly wonders if she can give up her Hollywood life for the country. We know how it ends from Everything About You, but the fun is following on the journey while these two love-struck kids face reality without the camera and the option of splicing and editing.

Thanks for stopping by, Lisa. I appreciated all your help with Alice’s Notions.

It was fun working on the story with you!

Lisa Lickel is a Wisconsin author who loves books, collects dragons, and writes inspiring fiction. She also writes short stories, feature articles, and radio theater, and loves to encourage new authors through mentoring, speaking, and leading workshops. Lisa is a member of Women Fiction Writers Association, the Council for Wisconsin Writers, the Chicago Writer’s Association, and vice president/instructor for Novel-In-Progress Bookcamp and Writing Retreat, Inc. She is an avid book reviewer and blogger, and a freelance editor. Find more at ww.LisaLickel.com. Readers can find a current list of available books on her website, Goodreads, and her Amazon Author page.

 

Bio pic included

Cover to Meander Scar included

Amazon link to Meander Scar: https://www.amazon.com/Meander-Scar-Lisa-J-Lickel-ebook/dp/B0037Z6YM8

This entry was posted in Author Tamera Lynn Kraft, Guest Authors by Tamera Lynn Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Lynn Kraft

Tamera Lynn Kraft has always loved adventures and writes Christian historical fiction set in America because there are so many adventures in American history. She is married to the love of her life, has two grown children, and lives in Akron, Ohio. Soldier’s Heart and A Christmas Promise are two of her historical novellas that have been published. She has received 2nd place in the NOCW contest, 3rd place TARA writer’s contest, and is a finalist in the Frasier Writing Contest.

2 thoughts on “Interviewing Multi-Published Author Lisa Lickel

Leave a Reply

