Guest Author Gail Kittleson – Equilibrium (Book Giveaway)

gailGail Kittleson is our guest author today. She is giving away a paperback copy of her new book, With Each New Dawn. Go to the end of this post for details.

Gail taught college expository writing and English as a Second Language. Now she writes memoir and women’s fiction, and facilitates writing workshops and women’s retreats. She makes her home in northern Iowa, where she and her husband enjoy their grandchildren and gardening. In winter, the Arizona mountains provide fresh novel fodder. You can find her online at these sites:

Equilibrium

by Gail Kittleson

Recently, some dizzy spells have challenged me. A piece fell as I removed an old card table from the closet, so I peered under the leg to see if I needed to glue it back in there, and voila! A completely uncontrollable sensation enveloped me, and I caught myself just in time.

A new online writer friend commiserated—she’d dealt with vertigo for decades before finding healing. Her “take” on this malady inspired me. She said, “I’ve also had to have my spine fused, and think I’d choose to re-experience that rather than the vertigo.”

Wow—misery loves company, for sure. It helps to have someone understand how this wooziness feels. That reminds me of how the heroine of my World War II novel must’ve felt as a stranger behind enemy lines. She’s a secret agent in constant danger of Gestapo detection. Then, her network gets betrayed to the enemy and she’s cast out to make it on her own and still hopefully contribute to the war effort.

The parallel probably falls apart at some point, but for our purposes, maybe my heroine Kate’s sense of disorientation compares with dizziness. She’d relied on her network for stability—suddenly it was gone. I felt this way again today—once again, I leaned the wrong way and whop! The floor became my friend.

Hopefully this’ll soon pass. In the meantime, I’ll leave you with a question: Which sense, if temporarily removed, would be hardest for you to handle?

Contest: Leave a comment on this post answering the question above for a chance to win a paperback copy of With Each New Dawn. Drawing will be held next Thursday. The winner will be announced on this post and will be notified by email. US Only.

with-each-new-dawnWith Each New Dawn

Kate Isaac grieves her husband, awaits their child’s birth, and welcomes her best friend Addie to London. But another loss and a meeting with mysterious Monsieur le Blanc launches her into Britain’s Secret Operations Executive(SOE). In late 1943, Kate parachutes into Southern France to aid the Resistance.

Domingo, a grieving Basque mountain guide-turned-saboteur, meets her parachute drop, tends her injured ankle, and carries her to safety. Reunited a few months later, they discover the injured Monsieur le Blanc who with his dying breath, reveals his familial connection to Kate.

In the shadow of the Waffen SS, Domingo and Kate subject their mutual attraction to the whims of war.  But can mere human will and moral courage change the tide and forge a future for them?

This entry was posted in Author Tamera Lynn Kraft, Guest Authors by Tamera Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Kraft

Tamera Kraft has been a children’s pastor for over 20 years. She is the leader of a ministry called Revival Fire For Kids where she mentors other children’s leaders, teaches workshops, and is a children’s ministry consultant and children’s evangelist. She is also a writer and has curriculum published including Kid Konnection 5: Kids Entering the Presence of God published by Pathway Press. She is a recipient of the 2007 National Children’s Leaders Association Shepherd’s Cup for lifetime achievement in children’s ministry.

4 thoughts on “Guest Author Gail Kittleson – Equilibrium (Book Giveaway)

  1. Enjoyed Gail’s post. I love her books. I was blessed to be a beta reader for Each New Dawn but would love to win a copy.

  2. I just connected with Gail this week through our Iowa bond so I’m excited to read her latest. I’d have a hard time losing my sight. I have vision issues that will require surgery someday so it makes me think how I’d continue writing. But God knows the outcome so I have faith it’ll work out for His good.

  3. My sense of sight would be very difficult, as I love God’s new masterpieces in nature he creates daily. I interned in MN Academy for the Blind…such challenges in life, AND I would not be able to read your book!! Travesty! Touch would be 2nd hardest, as you drop things you can’t feel in your hands, etc. Also Gail…there is rehab treatments for your vertigo. God’s blessings on your recovery!

Leave a Reply

