What to do when Life interrupts your Goals and Resolutions

by Tamera Lynn Kraft

Schedule Word Circled on Calendar Appointment ReminderOn January 2nd, I was so pleased with myself. I had made great plans for the new year, scheduled my calendar and time, and made a to do list to get things done. I was on task and feeling great. On Wednesday, January 4th, I’d blocked out the day to take down my tree. On Friday, January 6th, I planned to spend the whole day celebrating my anniversary and had scheduled things so I would get my to do list for the week done on Thursday.

Then Life Happened!

depositphotos_6867023_originalLife for me came in the form of the stomach flu that hit the evening of January 3rd. I don’t normally get sick, and I hadn’t had the stomach flu since I was in my teens. I was unprepared for how hard it would hit. When the worst of it was over three days later, I decided it was a momentary set back. I would get back on track. I was naive to recover so quickly. It was a full week before my fever broke, and I felt up to doing anything or going anywhere. Even now, I’m still weak and a little out of sorts.

Whatever life event happened to mess up your plans this year, I understand. These are things we can’t control no matter how great our plans. But there are lessons to learn during these times of our lives.

Person Holding Sign Spreading Word of GodGod is in control. I’m not. Sometimes I like to pretend I have it all together, but I don’t. Neither does the perfect Christian sitting in front of you in church. The truth is those who have it together are ripe for God humbling them. And that’s okay. Knowing we rely completely on God and can’t do anything on our own is a good place to be.

Blogging conceptDo what you can. When life interrupts your plans, it’s not the end of the world. God will get you through it. If you can’t do everything you planned, do what you can when you can. My tree isn’t down yet. Physically I’m not ready to tackle that, but it should be soon. I am up to working on my blog posts, so that’s what I doing. I’m doing what I can when I can, and not worrying about the rest.

Regroup. After life throws up on your plans and things start to get back to normal, it’s important to prayerfully regroup. If normal has been forever altered, adjust accordingly. You may have to cut some things from you list or you may have to adjust your timelines and due dates. That’s okay. What is not okay is throwing up your hands and giving up.

God is still in control. When life happened, it didn’t throw Him for a loop. It’s time to get back to work and trust God with all of your life.

How has life happened to ruin your plans this year?

This entry was posted in Author Tamera Lynn Kraft, Family Sharpeners, Life Sharpeners by Tamera Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Kraft

Tamera Kraft has been a children’s pastor for over 20 years. She is the leader of a ministry called Revival Fire For Kids where she mentors other children’s leaders, teaches workshops, and is a children’s ministry consultant and children’s evangelist. She is also a writer and has curriculum published including Kid Konnection 5: Kids Entering the Presence of God published by Pathway Press. She is a recipient of the 2007 National Children’s Leaders Association Shepherd’s Cup for lifetime achievement in children’s ministry.

Leave a Reply

