Welcoming my Author Friend, Sandra M Hart!

Happy to have my sweet friend, Sandra join me today. Sandra writes historical romance fiction. Be sure to check out her book at the links provided.

Tell us a little bit of how you were called, or began writing. Happenstance? A clear call? A chosen career?

I wanted to be a writer in elementary school. I found that books took readers on an adventure and wanted to write them by age eleven. When in sixth grade, I wrote my first novel. My favorite genre was mysteries and my story was called, The Mystery of the Missing Diamond Ring. You probably can’t guess what it was about! J  My sixth grade teacher encouraged my writings but few others did. No key people in my life bothered to read it so I released the dream. The stories never stopped coming, but I didn’t write them down.
Our choir director asked choir members to share devotions about our songs. Several years ago I wrote a devotion and shared it with the choir. The comments I received afterward reawakened the old dream.

It took some coaxing from God to accept the dream again, but I’m glad I did. I’m having a blast!

Do you like a definite spiritual theme or do you keep it less obvious as you write?

The story is what captures me first. I start with an idea and a vague notion of the ending before writing. Before long I notice a theme emerging. There is usually a main theme running through the entire novel as well as a couple of other issues. I pray over my stories before I begin and during the writing process. It amazes me to find messages I never consciously added.
What is YOUR favorite part about the book or why do you love this book? Why should we read it? JStranger cover_ new apple

A Stranger on My Land is a Civil War novella set on Lookout Mountain, Tennessee. Carrie finds Adam, a wounded Union soldier, on her Southern property after a battle near her home. He will die if she turns her back on him. She takes him in her family’s cave hideaway but can’t remove the bullets. He needs a Union surgeon to survive, but how can she save his life and protect her family’s hideout?

My favorite part of this book was imagining the real life dramas that happened when two people on opposite sides of the war fell in love. Sometimes the war actually brought people together…
Give us three items about yourself: hobbies, loves, fun or weird habits, food/snack kicks you like, what would you be if not a writer–that sort of thing.

  • The first weird thing about me is that I don’t like coffee. My mom used to tell me that I’d like coffee when I became an adult. Unfortunately, she was wrong in her prediction. It didn’t make sense to “acquire” a taste for something that didn’t taste good. (I know – I’m in the minority.)
  • The second thing that I never outgrew my craving for chocolate milk. I love to begin my day with chocolate milk the same way countless others need coffee, including the Civil War soldiers I write about!
  • The third thing is that I’d love to learn how to cook the “old-fashioned” way over a fire or on a wood stove. I’ve started a blog, Historical Nibbles, where I try to decipher old recipes or talk about selecting the right wood for a particular type of fire, for example. I’d love for you to visit me at https://sandramervillehart.wordpress.com/.

 

A Stranger on My Land by Sandra Merville Hart
Back Cover

Carrie and her little brother, Jay, find a wounded soldier on their land after a battle which later became known as “The Battle Above the Clouds.” Adam, a Union soldier, has been shot twice in the arm. Though Carrie is reluctant to take Adam to their cave where her family hides their livestock from both armies, she cannot turn her back on him. 

But her Aunt Lavinia, bitter over what Yankees have done to their land, urges Carrie to allow Adam to die. Carrie refuses, but cannot remove the bullets. Adam’s friendship with Jay softens her heart toward him. It’s not long until his gratitude and teasing manner spark a friendship between the young couple. Even though Carrie’s father fights for the Confederacy in far-off Virginia, her feelings for the handsome young soldier begin to blossom into love. 

When Adam’s condition worsens, Carrie knows a Union surgeon is needed to save his life. How can she accomplish this and keep her family’s hiding place a secret?

Buy her book here:
Amazon link: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01GM05TQQ/

Author Bio                                                                                                                                         KCP06Sandra Merville Hart is the column writer for “History in the Making” at the popular and growing site, www.AlmostanAuthor.com.

She is Assistant Editor for DevoKids.com where she contributes many historical articles.

Her debut book, A Stranger On My Land, IRCA Finalist 2015, released in 2014. She has written for several publications and blogs. Sandra loves to find unusual facts in her historical research to use in her stories and drags her husband along on her adventures. Thankfully, he also enjoys these fact-finding missions.
To connect with Sandra:

Assistant Editor at DevoKids: http://devokids.com/category/stories/
Contributing column writer for: http://www.almostanauthor.com/category/genre/history/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sandra.m.hart.7
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Sandra_M_Hart
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/sandramhart7/
Sandra’s Goodreads page: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8445068.Sandra_Merville_Hart
Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/100329215443000389705/posts
Sandra’s Historical Nibbles blog: https://sandramervillehart.wordpress.com/

This entry was posted in Carole Brown, Guest Posts by Other Authors, Marketing, Reading, Sharpening Our Writing, Uncategorized by Carole Brown. Bookmark the permalink.

About Carole Brown

Besides being a member and active participant of many writing groups, Carole Brown enjoys mentoring beginning writers. She loves to weave suspense and tough topics into her books, along with a touch of romance and whimsy, and is always on the lookout for outstanding titles and catchy ideas. She and her husband reside in SE Ohio but have ministered and counseled nationally and internationally. Together, they enjoy their grandsons, traveling, gardening, good food, the simple life, and did she mention their grandsons?

5 thoughts on “Welcoming my Author Friend, Sandra M Hart!

Leave a Reply

