Talented Author Lisa L. Hess Writes About the Complexities of Marriage Life

by Carole Brown

It’s such a privilege to host Lisa Lawmaster Hess today. I hope you enjoy her interview and check out her books. (I’ve scattered pictures of her books throughout the interview.) I think you won’t be family-is-something-8disappointed! Read on to find out a little bit about her:

Dealing with the complexities of marriage life is something that is presented in both your novels. Is this a topic that’s dear to your heart?

Wow—I never really thought about it that way—what a great question!

Marita was the first character I created, and my desire was to write a good single mom—one who had made mistakes, but had gotten her priorities straight. Then came Jim, and I guess he brought the complexities of marriage along with him! Once parenthood enters the picture, the complexities of marriage are pretty much inevitable, even if everything was smooth sailing before then. Ooh, Carole, now you have me thinking!

frontcover

Lol. That’s a good thing, isn’t it, Lisa? Has writing made you pickier in your reading choices?

Oh, I am MUCH pickier in my reading choices! Sadly, even some of my favorite authors
disappoint now because I read as a writer and hold them to a higher standard. A good story is no longer enough for me, and I leave many more books unfinished than I used to. In fairness, though, some of the books remain unfinished because I don’t have as much time to read as I’d like and there are a LOT of good books out there.

 

Give us some fun things about yourself. Choose 3 please:

  • Favorite season: Fall, hands down. My allergies hate fall, but I love the temperatures, over-fiftythe smells, the colors. I grew up in New Jersey and have lived in Pennsylvania most of my adult life, and fall is beautiful in both of those places. My daughter is now attending college in Connecticut and I can’t wait to see fall up there.
  • Favorite music and how it affects you. My taste in music is eclectic and mood-driven. I like anything from classical music to contemporary Christian, to a capella groups to top 40, rock and oldies. I’ve seen Billy Joel (my all-time favorite artist) in concert twice at Madison Square Garden and I’d go again tomorrow if I could.
  • Favorite shows, and why? Grey’s Anatomy, How to Get Away with Murder, The Big Bang Theory — anything that revolves around relationships and complex characters. I also like political satire, but will refrain from naming names as I don’t want to offend anyone.
  • Favorite quotes? “No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.” (Eleanor Roosevelt
    )

That’s a great one. I love quotes! If there would be one thing you could change in the world today–what would that be?

Our willingness to criticize, point fingers at and judge others without considering their perspective.

What’s next for you? Do you have another book being written now? Do you divdiv-marcoproducts_2262_170944852care to give us a hint?

  1. I’m currently working on another Marita/Angel/Charli book, something I never intended. Casting the First Stone was supposed to be a standalone book, but I had so many people asking me if I would be writing a sequel that I eventually did. Now that I’ve written two books, the characters have become very brazen and they’re telling me what they want to have happen next.
  2. In addition, I’m revising a novel that’s been sitting in my drawer for a decade. It’s mujpegch too long and needs to be cut by at least a third. The characters and story are different, yet the themes are similar enough that I don’t think readers of Casting the First Stone and Chasing a Second Chance will be disappointed.
  3. Finally, I have two short non-fiction books in the works, one of which ties directly to my Organizing By STYLE blog and STYLE Savvy posts at CatholicMom.com. But, since I’m teaching three classes this semester, finding time to make progress is a bit challenging.

Thank you so much for having me, and for asking such fun questions!

 

Casting the First Stone BLURB:
casting-the-first-stone-cover-1231-copyMarita Mercer has no intention of losing custody of her daughter to Jim and his perfect little wife. So what if Charli’s father is successful, established and respected? Does that make up for the fact that he never wanted their daughter in the first place?  But in the battle of Marita the single mother vs. Jim and his perfect little church-going wife, Marita is almost certain she will lose.
Angel Alessio’s life with her husband is missing only one thing – the very thing Marita has already given him. And although Angel loves her stepdaughter, that love does nothing to ease her longing for a baby of her own. 
Both women are determined to keep their families together…but at what cost?
 
 
Chasing a Second Chance BLURB:
chasing-a-2nd-chance
Angel
 Alessio is about to get a second chance at the family she’s always wanted. But things aren’t going according to plan, and she’s afraid that once again, following the rules won’t be enough to save her family.
Her stepdaughter, Charli, on the other hand, knows exactly what she doesn’t want. But suddenly, everything she’s known feels different, and she’s afraid her choices will not only ruin her second chance with her father, but also lead her to the one destination she’s always feared.
 
And Charli’s mother, Marita? In order to get her second chance at love, she’ll have to do something she’s fought against since she was a teenager. Will what she gains be worth what she loses? 
Will anyone get a second chance for Christmas?
ABOUT LISA:
Lisbook-jacket-photo-croppeda Lawmaster Hess is a transplanted Jersey girl who has lived in Pennsylvania for most of her adult life. She is the author of two non-fiction books (Acting Assertively and Diverse Divorce) and two novels (Casting the First Stone and Chasing a Second Chance). In addition, she has written columns for local publications and articles for national and online publications. Most recently, her work has appeared in Pediatrics for Parents, Faculty Focus, Teachers of Vision and Today’s Catholic Teacher
Lisa is also contributor to 50 Over 50: A Collection of Established and Emerging Women Writers and the newly released devotional, The Catholic Mom’s Prayer Companion. Lisa blogs at The Porch Swing Chronicles and Organizing By STYLE, and is a contributor atCatholicMom.com. A retired elementary school counselor, Lisa is now an adjunct professor of psychology at York College of Pennsylvania.

Thanks for joining me today, Lisa. It’s been a pleasure, and you’re welcome back anytime. Blessings in your future career as an awesome author!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Carole Brown. Bookmark the permalink.

About Carole Brown

Besides being a member and active participant of many writing groups, Carole Brown enjoys mentoring beginning writers. She loves to weave suspense and tough topics into her books, along with a touch of romance and whimsy, and is always on the lookout for outstanding titles and catchy ideas. She and her husband reside in SE Ohio but have ministered and counseled nationally and internationally. Together, they enjoy their grandsons, traveling, gardening, good food, the simple life, and did she mention their grandsons?

Leave a Reply

