Tamera Lynn Kraft at ACFW Conference

by Tamera Lynn Kraft

I loved being at the ACFW (American Christian Fiction Writers) Conference this year. It was the best writer’s conference I’ve ever attended.

Ted Dekker challenged us go deep into the darkness of our heart and shine God’s light in the dark places. That’s what being a Christian writer is all about.

ted dekker

I got the chance to meet Ted in the hallway. He is a lot of fun.

dekker 1 Dekker 2 Dekker 3

I took a workshop with Donald Maas which was fantastic. I learned so much. Another author who I learned a great deal from was James L. Rubart, author of The Five Times I Met Myself. In the class, he encouraged me to go deeper in my writing. I don’t believe I’ll ever be the same writer. Jim also won a Carol Award this year for his new novel. I can’t wait to read it.

acfw rubart2acfw rubart

I met with some of the ladies from Colonial Quills for supper before the conference began.

Colonial Quills 1

Colonial Quills 2

And I went to breakfast with my writer friends from Ohio.

acfw ohio

I met some strange and historical people in the hallways before the genre lunch.

acfw9acfw8acfw5acfw4acfw3acfw2acfw1acfw18acfw14acfw13acfw12acfw20acfw11

Here I am at the genre lunch. I didn’t really dress up, but I could imagine someone wearing something similar in 1919.

acfw me

Here I am all dressed up for the gala. I was trying to look glamorous, but I couldn’t pull it off because I kept laughing.

gala

I also had some pretty strange and fun roommates. We became close friends in a short time.

roommates selfieRoommates

The best part was the spiritual side of the conference. Every speaker talked about how God was our validation not writing. When it was my turn to work in the prayer room, lives were changed and people were healed. And the worship was so anointed. The presence of God was heavy there.

acfw worship

acfw worship 2

I talked to two editors and one agent who were interested in my work, but what I got out of the conference went beyond what the open doors and opportunities for my writing. Needless to say, I had a great time.

 

 

One thought on “Tamera Lynn Kraft at ACFW Conference

Leave a Reply

