3 Keys to Using Scripture in Fiction Writing

ResurrectionOfHopeCoverArtI tend to occasionally use Scripture in my fiction writing. I never set out to do so, but when I’m going through trials, I usually try to find a Scripture to hold on to. So when my characters go through trials, which they always do, I also give them a Scripture to hold onto. My newest novella, Resurrection of Hope, had the theme of hope throughout it. Here’s an example of where I used Scripture.

     Vivian swallowed. “I… I don’t know what to say. I expected to find you distraught after what happened, but you seem to be… almost cheerful.”

Hope’s eyes closed and her head tilted back into the pillow. “I have my moments. Trust me.” She opened her eyes and smiled. “I keep my hope in Jesus Christ, and He gives me the peace I need to get through this.”

Vivian held back a snort. “How can you of all people talk of hope knowing you’ll never have any children?”

Hope pressed her lips together as she propped herself up on her pillow. “If my hope rested on having children, then you’re right. There would be no reason, but my hope is the kind they talk about in Psalms. ‘But now, Lord, what do I look for? My hope is in you.'”

Close up of old Holy bible book

Here are a few tips for using Scripture in fiction writing.

Use it sparingly. Don’t use entire chapters of Scripture or come up with a Scripture for every chapter of your novel. Remember this isn’t a Bible study. You are writing a work of fiction not preaching a sermon.

Use it only when a Scripture reference would be a natural part of conversation. Don’t force it. Nobody like to hear a Christian who proves how spiritual she is by constantly quoting Scripture. If you try to force Scripture references, it will come across the same way.

Don’t be afraid to use Scripture. There are some writers who teach that we have to cleanse our manuscripts of Scripture and conversion experiences to avoid becoming preachy. It is true that if we force these references into our work, it will come across that way, but if it is organic to the story, don’t be afraid of using any rule by including it.

 

This entry was posted in Sharpening Our Writing, Tamera Lynn Kraft, Writing Tips by Tamera Lynn Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Lynn Kraft

Tamera Lynn Kraft has always loved adventures and writes Christian historical fiction set in America because there are so many adventures in American history. She is married to the love of her life, has two grown children, and lives in Akron, Ohio. Soldier’s Heart and A Christmas Promise are two of her historical novellas that have been published. She has received 2nd place in the NOCW contest, 3rd place TARA writer’s contest, and is a finalist in the Frasier Writing Contest.

Leave a Reply

