A Warm Welcome to Lorilyn Roberts!

It’s with real pleasure that I share Lorilyn’s post today with tips to help the writer. Read on and enjoy, and be sure to check out her books here:  The City

 

What Are My Favorite On-Line Writing Tools for Writing Fiction? Best of All, Can You Believe They Are Free?home-office-336373_1280

Guest Post by Lorilyn Roberts

I am working on my fifth book in the Seventh Dimension Series, and I hope I can help writers who are writing their first novel to write more efficiently.

The first tool I would recommend to novice and even seasoned authors is AutoCrit. The website labels the software as “Manuscript Editing Software for Fiction Writers.”

  • AutoCrit will help you to find passive sentences, overused words, and make your writing tighter. I have become a better writer as the software highlights phrases and “favorite” words I’ve used too many times.

For example, I rarely use the words “just” and “finally” anymore because the software showed I was overusing them. While the software can’t replace an author’s need for an editor, it will help authors to become better self-editors.

  • The second software I use is Hiveword. Hiveword is a “Web-Based Novel Writing Organizer” and affiliated with James Scott Bell’s “Knock-Out Novel.”

The site has a “Knowledge Writer’s Base” that is a search engine for writers. Hiveword has a section that acts as a prompt to get you started (beginnings are always hard), a scene organizer where scenes can be moved around, and even a character name generator. I know there are other programs writers swear by, but if I can’t get up and running on something in fifteen minutes, I’ll quit. Know yourself and your limits when it comes to technology. If you are too impatient like me to learn some of the more complicated software for writers but still need a little help organizing your thoughts, Hiveword is a great option.

Another thing I do with Hiveword is I copy and paste my scenes on the website. In other words, when I finish writing a scene and save it on my computer, I also upload a copy to Hiveword under the correctly numbered scene. That way I always have an online backup, and the scenes on the software keep me organized. Since I am an outliner, I can quickly check what scene is next and what I last wrote.

The character listing has all the names from my series in one place as well as all the information associated with that character.

There are other great features I don’t have space to enumerate here, but I find it amazing the standard version is still free. I see there is now a Hiveword Plus version you can purchase for $25 per year.

  • Another writing frustration I had was writing descriptive body language. One day I had an epiphany—is there a website that can help me with this? And I found one here. As any author knows, good writing shows rather than tells. How do you show contempt? Disbelief? Amusement? Check out “Writers Write: Cheat Sheets for Writing Body Language” and see for yourself.
  • I also use my computer’s dictionary and thesaurus liberally. There is no substitute for these, and they are free.

If you have found something helpful and simple to use, please share in the comments. I’d love to hear about it and will send you the link to download a free copy of Seventh Dimension – The City for sharing (please, no duplicate shares).

If you have found these tools helpful, I hope you will check out my latest book by clicking here. The City

City_3D-yelloiw

The man stood as if fixing to leave. “There is a prophecy from long ago that says when the world is engulfed in war and all seems lost, a king will come forth from beyond Shambhala. With a great army, he will eradicate the darkness from the earth. An age of peace will follow”
The man walked a few feet in the other direction and said, “Love is the greatest virtue that carries the greatest cost.” He then continued on his way until he disappeared amongst the trees.” ~from Seventh Dimension – The City, A Young Adult Fantasy, Book 4

*~*~*~*

ABOUT LORILYN:                                                                                                                            LorilynandBooks

Lorilyn Roberts is an award-winning Christian author who writes for the young and the young at heart.

When not writing books, Lorilyn provides closed captioning for television.

Lorilyn is a single mother by choice. She adopted her two daughters from Nepal and Vietnam. She has been a speaker at various events and functions, including women’s groups, adoption support groups, and writer workshops. She is the former president of the Gainesville Chapter of Word Weavers International.

One thought on “A Warm Welcome to Lorilyn Roberts!

  1. Hiveword sounds awesome. I’ve found another similar site (it sounds similar anyway), called Supernotecard.com But it limits you to the amount of ‘cards’ or whatever you can use. It uses virtual index cards to help you organize your stories. It’s not too complicated and it was just what i was looking for (the virtual index card idea). Very plain though. Some people like that, some people don’t. I don’t like the limitation it has set, but I experimented with it a bit.

    Thanks for these, I’m interested in checking a few of them out!

    I wrote a blog post as well with resources for writers, in case anyone else is interested.
    https://authorswilliams.wordpress.com/2016/03/22/5-free-online-resources-for-writers/

Leave a Reply

