Guest Author Debbie Lynne Costello – Wedding Facts and Book Giveaway

DebbieDebbie Lynne Costello has enjoyed writing stories since she was eight years old. She raised her family and then embarked on her own career of writing the stories that had been begging to be told. She and her husband have four children and live in upstate South Carolina. She has worked in many capacities in her church and is currently the Children’s director. Debbie Lynne has shown and raised Shetland sheepdogs for eighteen years and still enjoys litters now and then. In their spare time she and her husband enjoy camping and riding their Arabian and Tennessee Walking horses.

Visit Debbie Lynne at www.debbielynnecostello.com, www.theswordandspirit.blogspot.comhttps://www.facebook.com/debbielynnecostello , https://plus.google.com/+DebbieLynneCostello/posts, and https://twitter.com/DebiLynCostello

Debbie is giving away a choice of one of her books Shattered Memories or Sword of Forgiveness—paperback or ebook. Read on down to find out how to enter.

Wedding Facts

by Debbie Lynn Costello

There is nothing better than a good read that ends in a wedding and a happily ever after. I love to end my stories with a marriage and the dreams of a bright future. I thought I’d share with you some interesting wedding facts.

Tis the seaDebbie1son for weddings! I think the history nut in me is always looking for that historical tidbit. So with the marriage of my son and lovely daughter-in-law and the marriage of my beautiful niece (pictures of both weddings below) it got me thinking…Where did all these traditions come from anyway? As I researched I discovered that not everyone agrees on where some of these traditions come from. So I may never know all of them, but I wanted to share with you the ones I did discover.

Debbie2The wedding ring…something every young girl dreams of wearing someday and something every young man wants to make sure he has the perfect one for his wife-to-be.  Although I did see mention of prehistoric times, the ancient Romans seemed to be the first to use the wedding ring. Reeds, leather, ivory, iron, and gold were some of the early materials used. Gold became popular in medieval times and was sometimes fashioned with gems. Ruby and sapphire were both popular, but diamond was the favorite. They placed the ring on the same finger we place it on today, the ‘ring finger’ on the left hand because they believed the heart was on the left side. They also believed that the third finger held the ‘Vena Amoris or the ‘Vein of Love’ which went directly to the heart. Okay all you romantics say ‘awe’.

Debbie3The bridal bouquet. It seems we can’t get married without one these days even if it is just wildflowers. I know when I was a little girl and we pretended to be brides, we may not have had a wedding dress, or a ring, or even a groom, but we always had a bouquet! The bouquets in ancient times were filled with herbs and spices. These were believed to be strong smelling and would ward off evil spirits and would protect from illness and bad luck.

Debbie4Which brings us to the throwing of the bridal bouquet. The bride was considered lucky on her wedding day and because of that everyone wanted a piece of her luck. If a person could get a fragment of the bride’s dress they would obtain some of that good fortune. The brides dress would end in tatters. The bride began throwing her bouquet for the crowd as she made her escape.

Debbie5Have you ever wondered where the tradition of giving the bride away came from? Think arranged marriages. Daughters were considered the property of their father. When a young woman married, her father actually ‘gave’ her to the man marrying her and from that moment on she became the property of her husband. Hey ladies, we’ve come a long way baby!

Debbie6My niece asked me to find out about the tradition of keeping the small cake that sits on top of the wedding cake and the couple eats on their anniversary. But in the process I discovered that the wedding cake came out of medieval times. The cakes were stacked as high as possible and if the bride and groom could still kiss over them they would have a prosperous life. In the 17th century in England they baked a glass ring into the bride pie and who ever found the ring would be the next to marry. It was also considered rude not to eat a piece of the bride pie. The tradition of the bridal pie and glass ring have disappeared but I thought it an interesting tidbit you’d enjoy.  There are many different traditions for the bridal cake, depending on country and time period. So I will stop here, but not before saying I didn’t find where the saving of the top cake for the first anniversary came from. But it did occur to me that it couldn’t be a tradition terribly old since the cake has to be frozen in order to preserve it.

Debbie7Superstition brings on many a tradition. Bridesmaids came about to fool evil spirits. Centuries ago the bride’s friends would dress like the bride to confuse malicious spirits that might be prowling around. So I was wondering what if there was an identical twin dressed as her bride-to-be sister…couldn’t she have fun? ;o)

Debbie8Throwing of rice came about in ancient times. People brought rice or grain to shower on the newlyweds to wish them a fruitful and prosperous union. We don’t throw rice much these days because of people slipping and getting injured, and I understand that even birdseed has been banned from some wedding places! Poor birds! Today flower petals, herbs, biodegradable confetti, and reusable pom poms are given to guests to throw. I’m trying to figure out what these things might represent. Anyone want to take a stab at it?

I can’t end this post without the one little rhyme we all know which tells the bride what she needs to have for her wedding day.

Something old,
Something new,
Something borrowed,
Something blue,
And a sixpence in your shoe.

This rhyming tradition comes from the later half of the 19th century. The something old is the bride’s connection to past friends and family. The something new represents optimism for the future. Something borrowed is for happiness for the bride. The idea is that she would borrow happiness from a happily wedded woman. Something blue is a symbol of love, fidelity, and purity. The sixpence is a wish for prosperity and good fortune.

Giveaway: To enter to win a choice of one of my books leave a comment telling us what is your favorite part of a wedding or share with us another wedding tradition that you know and where it came from. Don’t forget to leave your email address. The drawing will be held next Thursday and announced in a comment on this post.

Shattered Memories front for NookShattered Memories

The Charleston earthquake has left destruction like nothing Doctor Andrew Warwick has ever seen. On a desperate mission to find the lady who owns his heart, he frantically searches through the rubble, where he finds her injured and lifeless. After she regains consciousness, the doctor’s hopes are quickly dashed as he realizes she doesn’t remember him. Things only get worse when he discovers she believes she’s still engaged to the abusive scoundrel, Lloyd Pratt. Now Drew is on a race with the wedding clock to either help her remember or win her heart again before she marries the wrong man.

Waking in a makeshift hospital, Olivia Macqueen finds herself recovering from a head injury. With amnesia stealing a year of her memories, she has trouble discerning between lies and truth. When her memories start returning in bits and pieces, she must keep up the charade of amnesia until she can find out the truth behind the embezzlement of her family’s business while evading the danger lurking around her.

DebbieCostello_SwordOfForgiveness_1400pxSword of Forgiveness

When her father died, she had promised herself no man would own her again, yet who could defy an edict of the king? After the death of her cruel father, Brithwin is determined never again to live under the harsh rule of any man. Independent and resourceful, she longs to be left alone to manage her father’s estate. But she soon discovers a woman has few choices when the king decrees she is to marry Royce, the Lord of Rosencraig. As if the unwelcome marriage isn’t enough, her new husband accuses her of murdering his family, and she is faced with a challenge of either proving her innocence or facing possible execution. Royce Warwick returns home after setting down a rebellion to find his family brutally murdered. When all fingers point to his betrothed and attempts are made on his life, Royce must wade through murky waters to uncover the truth. Yet Brithwin’s wise and kind nature begin to break down the walls of his heart, and he soon finds himself in a race to discover who is behind the evil plot before Brithwin is the next victim.

This entry was posted in Facts in History, Guest Authors, History Sharpeners, Sharpening Our Reading by Tamera Lynn Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Lynn Kraft

Tamera Lynn Kraft has always loved adventures and writes Christian historical fiction set in America because there are so many adventures in American history. She is married to the love of her life, has two grown children, and lives in Akron, Ohio. Soldier’s Heart and A Christmas Promise are two of her historical novellas that have been published. She has received 2nd place in the NOCW contest, 3rd place TARA writer’s contest, and is a finalist in the Frasier Writing Contest.

32 thoughts on “Guest Author Debbie Lynne Costello – Wedding Facts and Book Giveaway

  1. I really like when you put your names on a lock and then together put the lock on a bridge and throw the key over into the water.

    • I love that, too but have never seen it done. We did see the aftermath on a bridge in Italy, though. That was very cool!

  2. Oooh, I have 3 favorites:
    1.) When the father publicly gives his daughter, relinquishing her to her new husband. I remember my Dad doing this…a moment I will always treasure.
    2.) The Kiss!
    3.) The announcement and presentation of the new Mr & Mrs!

    nj(dot)bossman(at)gmail(dot)com

    • Awesome choices! I remember the pride of being introduced as Mrs. Costello. A warm and fuzzy feeling that has never left me! Thanks for coming by and good luck!

  3. My favorite part of the wedding is when the new couple are introduced to the guests. d[dot]brookmyer[at]yahoo[dot]com

    • And I think that is such an exciting part for the woman! Maybe the man too! ;o) Thanks for coming by, Donna!

  4. Thanks Debbie for this post! A Catholic Wedding tradition my mom told me about which I ‘m not sure is done anymore is the bride placing a bouquet at the feet of a statue of St . Mary. I think it’s a pretty tradition Don’t know how it started though.

    • Very interesting, Lynne. I’ve never heard that tradition before. I love hearing about different traditions. So much fun. Thanks for coming by and sharing!

  5. Thanks for sharing the history behind many of the wedding customs we all are used to. I don’t know when it began but I enjoy watching the Father/Daughter dance at the reception.
    Connie
    cps1950(at)gmail(dot)com

    • Oh yes! I forgot about that one. I love watching that too! It’s bitter sweet for the daddy. Thanks for stopping by and sharing that!

    • I posted my comment before I finished it. I like it when the bride and groom see each other for the first time on their wedding day.
      diannekc8(at)gmail(dot)com

      • Oh my gosh, yes! The love in their eyes. Sooooo romantic! Thank you for sharing and for coming by. Good luck in the drawing!

  6. To me…the best part of the wedding…is the kiss…it is such a symbol of starting their life together…as one unit…and if they have not kissed before that day…it means even more!!! I love all the romantic moments of a weddings…I am the biggest sap!!! Romantic beyond words…I love old fashioned types of things…more than anything!!! I enjoyed reading your words…and I want to thank you so much…for the opportunity to win!!! It would be an honor and a blessing too!!!

    • Thank you! You’re so kind. :o) I am a huge romantic at heart too. I love the things that me sigh and feel all squish inside. Makes me happy just thinking about it! Thank you for coming by and good luck!

  7. I love seeing the dresses in a wedding. The colors, designs, decorations…and the cake. (o: It’s interesting to see how the couple’s personality comes forth in the whole affair.

    • What a great observation, Kathryn. Wedding decorations really do tell a lot about the couple. I’ll pay more attention to the decorations next time! Good luck and thanks so much for coming by!

  8. When we were married 40 years ago, our cake was packaged up for our 1 year Anniversary. The cake tasted better than it did on the actual day or maybe it’s because I wasn’t a bundle of nerves, either.

    • That’s a toss up, Janet. Because I think frozen and then thawed cake is much more moist. So it really may have been better! And then add to that the nerves. Thanks for coming by and sharing.

    • Hey Karen. I did think about that when someone mentioned when the bride and groom see each other. The groom always looks so proud! Thanks for coming by. Good luck.

  9. I like non-traditional customs that I have seen implemented in Christian weddings that I have attended. One is communion where attendees can also participate and the other is an invitation to know Jesus. My husband and I didn’t have either of those, but since we were both Christians from non-Christian families our vows were focused on the role of Jesus in our lives and marriage.

  10. My favorite part is when the bride comes in. I will look at her second because I like to see the grooms eyes and his expression when he sees his bride. I watch him the most because there’s so much to see in his face.
    I don’t think this is a tradition but several weddings I’ve been to someone will take the shoe of the groom and take up money for the couple toward the end of the reception.
    grandmama_brenda(at)yahoo(dot)com

    • Hey Brenda. I have never seen the shoe tradition. That sounds like fun! I too like to see the grooms face. They are like an open book at that moment. :o) Thank you for coming by and for sharing. Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

