I Want to Skid in Sideways!

Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body,

but rather to skid in sideways, with an old dog,

dog-free

astride a lifelong old horse,

horse free

body thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and screaming “Woo Hoo! What a ride!”                                                                                                –author unknown

girl-899983__180 happy free

Let me say upfront, with a grin, I’m not at all sure that’s the way I’ll go out. But three things for sure:

  • I want it to be a peaceful going.
  • I want to have the knowledge that I’m ready for God to take me
  • And I want to have the assurance I did all I could with the knowledge I had, with the talents I had and with the strength I was given.

I want no regrets. I don’t want to say, I wish I’d tried that. Or I wish I’d had the nerve to experience that. Nope. I want to appreciate every day. Every experience. Every opportunity. That way I can say with the Apostle Paul:

I’ve fought a good fight. I’ve finished the race, I have kept the faith. II Timothy 4:7

I couldn’t ask for a better description of my life!

This entry was posted in Author Carole Brown, Devotions, Life Sharpeners, Sharpened By the Word by Carole Brown. Bookmark the permalink.

About Carole Brown

Besides being a member and active participant of many writing groups, Carole Brown enjoys mentoring beginning writers. She loves to weave suspense and tough topics into her books, along with a touch of romance and whimsy, and is always on the lookout for outstanding titles and catchy ideas. She and her husband reside in SE Ohio but have ministered and counseled nationally and internationally. Together, they enjoy their grandsons, traveling, gardening, good food, the simple life, and did she mention their grandsons?

2 thoughts on “I Want to Skid in Sideways!

  1. Mom said something very similar, Carole, but she wasn’t riding a horse 🙂 As I look back on her life, I praise God that she accomplished all three of those goals. She lives on through her two daughters whom she taught to love the Lord!

Leave a Reply

