My Thanksgiving

thanksgiving_03_ai10-1113vv-vI love Thanksgiving. Aside from the historical and spiritual significance of thanking God for His many blessings, I enjoy just about everything associated with the day.

When I get up tomorrow, I’ll watch the Macy’s Day Parade while getting the capon stuffed and in the oven. We usually cook a couple of capons instead of turkey.

I love the parade. I’ve been watching it since I was a little girl. Of course, I always looked forward to seeing Santa’s sleigh, but my favorite part of the parade has always been watching the Radio City Rockettes dance. I took twenty years of dance lessons, and when I was young, I wanted to be a Rockette.

After the parade, I finish preparing a feast for my family (husband, daughter, son-in-law, sister, mom, and my daughter’s friend). Not everyone enjoys spending all the effort and time doing this, but I love it. I set the table with a cloth tablecloth and napkins, china and crystal, and a Thanksgiving centerpiece and candle. Here’s the menu for the day.

  • 2 capons
  • Homemade gizzard stuffing
  • Homemade sweet potatoes
  • Homemade mash potatoes
  • Noodles
  • Homemade gravy
  • Cranberry Sauce
  • Asparagus
  • Pumpkin Pie and Chocolate Pie (made from scratch by my husband who enjoys baking)

After supper and dessert, we play cards or board games and end the day with a Christmas movie. Usually we watch It’s a Wonderful Life or Miracle on 34th Street. We’re not big sports fans.

Do how do you celebrate Thanksgiving?

This entry was posted in Family Sharpeners, Holidays by Tamera Lynn Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Lynn Kraft

Tamera Lynn Kraft has always loved adventures and writes Christian historical fiction set in America because there are so many adventures in American history. She is married to the love of her life, has two grown children, and lives in Akron, Ohio. Soldier’s Heart and A Christmas Promise are two of her historical novellas that have been published. She has received 2nd place in the NOCW contest, 3rd place TARA writer’s contest, and is a finalist in the Frasier Writing Contest.

2 thoughts on “My Thanksgiving

  1. Love your thksg holiday! Mine is similar except we have turkey and sometimes another meat. And dil usually prepares something too. 🙂 Love your posts, Tamera! Your site is one of my fav places to visit. Happy Thksg.

Leave a Reply

