Guest Author Amy C. Blake – God’s Underdog

AmyAward-winning author Amy C. Blake is a pastor’s wife and homeschooling mother of four. She has an M.A. in English from Mississippi College and has written articles, devotionals, and short stories for a number of publications. She’d love for you to visit her website at amycblake.com for tips on homeschooling, advice for the rookie pastor’s wife, and helps for the Christian life. You can also find more information on her website about her novels–Whitewashed, Colorblind, and The Trojan Horse Traitor.

God’s Underdog

by Amy C. Black

I love underdog stories. I cheered when the street rat Aladdin won the hand of Princess Jasmine. I woo-hood when the weak orphan Harry Potter defeated wicked Lord Voldemort. I even teared up when the Little Engine That Could made it over the mountain with toys and treats for the children.

But I don’t like to be an underdog myself. I want to be strong, heroic, rich and independent. I want to have it all together, or at least appear to have it all together. When I’m honest, though, I have to confess how weak I am. I’m nowhere near strong or heroic, not at all rich or independent. I sure don’t have it all together.

Even as a Christian who knows the answer to the world’s problems, I still struggle. I sin and get discouraged. I try again and fail again. I share the gospel with a friend, and it comes out all wrong. Sometimes, she even throws my sin back in my face as a reason to reject the truth. Pretty soon, my frailties weigh me down so I can’t see how God could ever use someone like me to help a world drowning in sin.

Yet I serve a God who doesn’t look at things the way I do. God chose David, a shepherd boy too small for the king’s armor, to defend His Name against the Philistine giant, Goliath. He chose tiny Bethlehem as the birthplace of the King of kings. He chose a Jewish baby born in a barn to an unwed mother as the one and only means of salvation.

I confess, I never would’ve chosen those weak ones for such important tasks, and the world sure wouldn’t. The world praises the strong, the rich, the powerful. The world despises the weak. In fact, to the ungodly, the mere idea that the God of the Universe chose to become a helpless baby makes absolutely no sense. But, as 1Corinthians 1:25 tells us, the foolishness of God is wiser than men, and the weakness of God is stronger than men.

God displays great wisdom in using the despised things of the world to showcase His power. Without a “thorn in the flesh” to keep him humble, the Apostle Paul may have found it too difficult to resist boasting in his pedigree, education, and accomplishments, rather than in Christ alone. Without his older brothers to remind him of his place as the youngest (caretaker for a bunch of smelly sheep), David might’ve gotten the big head after killing Goliath. Without my continual battle against my old nature and a crystal-clear knowledge of my inability to speak and act as well as I’d like, I might forget that my only hope–that the world’s only hope–is Jesus.

What about you? Do you ever get weighed down with your frailties? Do you ever wonder how God could use somebody as weak as you?

In those disheartening moments, we need to look up and see what God is doing. We need to remember how He delights in using weakness to demonstrate His strength, and we need to hope. Because God may just be using insignificant us to accomplish something amazing for His kingdom. Then we’ll get to praise Him for the privilege of being God’s underdog.

TrojanHorseTraitor_FlatforeBooksThe Trojan Horse Traitor

Left on Castle Island to attend Camp Classic, thirteen-year-old, scrawny, redheaded, homeschooler Levi Prince finds himself at the center of an enchanted world of amazing abilities, cloudy motives, and wicked beings that will challenge his very spirit. He begins to form friendships, but life at camp becomes more confusing as questionable activities and uncertain agendas bring about conflict that tests his character in ways he never expected. Finally, faced with a friend’s betrayal, Levi is forced to confront true evil. Will he, underdog of underdogs, find the courage to stand his ground, and to become the hero he was always meant to be?

The Trojan Horse Traitor is now available in both e-book and paperback formats.

This entry was posted in Devotions, Guest Authors, Sharpened By the Word by Tamera Lynn Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Lynn Kraft

Tamera Lynn Kraft has always loved adventures and writes Christian historical fiction set in America because there are so many adventures in American history. She is married to the love of her life, has two grown children, and lives in Akron, Ohio. Soldier’s Heart and A Christmas Promise are two of her historical novellas that have been published. She has received 2nd place in the NOCW contest, 3rd place TARA writer’s contest, and is a finalist in the Frasier Writing Contest.

Leave a Reply

