Word Sharpeners Weekly – August 17, 2015

DSCN1390

Rick and me in Alaska

Word Sharpener News: I’m at home again this week. It feels strange being home for two weeks in a row, but I’m enjoying it. If nothing else, I have my laundry done and my house clean, and I’m catching up on my blogs and writing. I’m now a contributor to a new blog, Heroes, Heroines, and History. My first post will be August 28th. I love this blog and am looking forward to being a part of it.

These are the other blogs I contribute to besides my Word Sharpeners Blog:

DSCN1679

Husband Rick at Victoria Gardens

This week, I do have plans. Thursday, August 20th is my husband Rick’s birthday, and I’m planning something special for him. Saturday, August 22nd, my husband and I are joining some writer friends of mine at Historic Roscoe Village in Ohio. As a history geek, I’m looking forward to it.

This week, I’m introducing you to a novel I co-wrote with author Lisa Lickel. A publish is looking at it now, so hopefully, you’ll be able to read it soon. The best way to describe this novel’s genre is a cozy Cold War spy romance with some quilting thrown in. It’s set right after World War II in a small town in West Virginia.

Alice’s Notions

by Tamera Lynn Kraft and Lisa Lickel

Alice’s Notions takes place in rural Appalachia immediately following World War II. Alice Brighton is a widow whose beloved husband, Joe, was killed in action. Alice returns home to Burning Bush, West Virginia to open a fabric shop specializing in quilting. She reacquaints herself with her community, and sponsors a European refugee to help in the shop. While Alice plays her and Joe’s favorite song, the refugee, Greta Engel, arrives. Alice is shocked to learn that Greta is German and things get off to a rocky start.

Alice has a difficult time with her landlord, Rick Morrison, a veteran with a murky past who gives her grief for operating a frivolous business and not living on her home farm with her veteran brother, Pete, and his city wife who’s having trouble adjusting to life on the farm as well as a recent miscarriage.

No one is exactly who he or she claims to be in Burning Bush; something Alice learns the hard way during Barn Quilt Block tour preparations meant to give new life to the struggling community. Old family friends are double agents, spies are everywhere, and secret romances abound in this thrilling novel with series potential of the rise of the Cold War in America

Casting is easy for this one because Alice loves movies and thinks of everyone as a movie character they resemble.

  Alice Brighton played by Judy Garland

  Rick Morrison played by Cary Grant

Holidays This Week: Today is National Joke Day.

  • August 18 – National Mail Order Catalogue Day
  • August 19 – National Aviation Day
  • August 22 – National Tooth Fairy Day

Quote of the Week: Those who stand for nothing fall for anything. — Alexander Hamilton

Verse of the Week: Seek the LORD while He may be found; Call upon Him while He is near. Let the wicked forsake his way And the unrighteous man his thoughts; And let him return to the LORD, And He will have compassion on him, And to our God, For He will abundantly pardon.  Isaiah 55:6-7

Song of the Week: Set a Fire by William Reagan & United Pursuit

Hymn of the Week:  Be Thou My Vision 

This entry was posted in Word Sharpener Week by Tamera Lynn Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Lynn Kraft

Tamera Lynn Kraft has always loved adventures and writes Christian historical fiction set in America because there are so many adventures in American history. She is married to the love of her life, has two grown children, and lives in Akron, Ohio. Soldier’s Heart and A Christmas Promise are two of her historical novellas that have been published. She has received 2nd place in the NOCW contest, 3rd place TARA writer’s contest, and is a finalist in the Frasier Writing Contest.

Leave a Reply

