Word Sharpeners Weekly – August 10, 2015

Web1Word Sharpener News: I just got home from Clarksburg, West Virginia where I lead a kid’s crusade. Six children were saved, and many more were delivered from anger, hurt, and fear. God is good.

Even though it isn’t Christmas, I’m featuring my published Christmas novella, A Christmas Promise today. A Christmas Promise is about Moravians who moved to Ohio to become missionaries to the Lenape Indians. The Moravians started a 100 year prayer meeting that launched a missionary movement that is still going on today.

AChristmasPromise_medA Christmas Promise

by Tamera Lynn Kraft

A Moravian Holiday Story, Circa 1773

Available at Amazon, Pelican Books, and Barnes and Noble

During colonial times, John and Anna settle in an Ohio village to become Moravian missionaries to the Lenape. When John is called away two days before Christmas to help at another settlement, he promises he’ll be back by Christmas Day.

When he doesn’t show up, Anna works hard to not fear the worst while she provides her children with a traditional Moravian Christmas.

Through it all, she discovers a Christmas promise that will give her the peace she craves.

Holidays This Week: Although it is not a holiday, one of the most important events in church history since the Bible was completed happened on August 13, 1727. This is the day the Holy Spirit fell on a Moravian congregation in Germany. A 100 year round the clock prayer meeting started that ushered in the modern missionary movement and the first Great Awakening. Some people, including me, believe this was the beginning of the Philadelphia Church age from Revelation 3. Since then, the true church of Christ has spread throughout the globe. But it all started at that prayer meeting.

V-J Day – On August 14, 1945, Japan’s unconditional surrender to the allies ending World War 2 was announced. On this day, Victory in Japan Day is celebrated.

Other Holidays This Week:

  • August 10 – National S’Mores Day (yum)
  • August 14 – New Moon
  • August 16 – National Roller Coaster Day (fun)

Quote of the Week: Are there no Moravians in the Moon, that not a missionary has yet visited this poor pagan planet of ours, to civilize civilization and Christianize Christendom? — Herman Melville

Verse of the Week: To the angel of the church in Philadelphia write: These are the words of him who is holy and true, who holds the key of David. What he opens no one can shut, and what he shuts no one can open. I know your deeds. See, I have placed before you an open door that no one can shut. I know that you have little strength, yet you have kept my word and have not denied my name. I will make those who are of the synagogue of Satan, who claim to be Jews though they are not, but are liars—I will make them come and fall down at your feet and acknowledge that I have loved you. Since you have kept my command to endure patiently, I will also keep you from the hour of trial that is going to come on the whole world to test the inhabitants of the earth. I am coming soon. Hold on to what you have, so that no one will take your crown.  The one who is victorious I will make a pillar in the temple of my God. Never again will they leave it. I will write on them the name of my God and the name of the city of my God, the new Jerusalem, which is coming down out of heaven from my God; and I will also write on them my new name. Whoever has ears, let them hear what the Spirit says to the churches. Revelation 3:7-13

Song of the Week: Build Your Kingdom Here by Rend Collective

Hymn of the Week: Revive Us Again

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Tamera Lynn Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Lynn Kraft

Tamera Lynn Kraft has always loved adventures and writes Christian historical fiction set in America because there are so many adventures in American history. She is married to the love of her life, has two grown children, and lives in Akron, Ohio. Soldier’s Heart and A Christmas Promise are two of her historical novellas that have been published. She has received 2nd place in the NOCW contest, 3rd place TARA writer’s contest, and is a finalist in the Frasier Writing Contest.

Leave a Reply

