Guest Author Teresa Pollard – The Image in the Mirror

Teresa Pollard is from Richmond, Virginia, and was saved at a young age.  She has a Master of Arts degree in English and Creative Writing from Hollins College, and has served as a Sunday School teacher and children’s worker for most of the last forty years. She is the co-author of Not Guilty and Not Ashamed (due July 7), and the author of Tokens of Promise and Woman of Light, (also due out from HopeSprings Books in October). Married for forty years, she was devastated by divorce and the death of her youngest daughter, but God has blessed her with a new home and another grandson, and she now resides in Dacula, Georgia.

She blogs every Tuesday at http://teresatalkstaboo.wordpress.com.

Follow her on Facebook at Teresa Pollard, Author.

The Image in the Mirror

by Teresa Pollard

For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face; now I know in part, but then I will know fully just as I also have been known. 1 Corinthians 13:12 (NASB)

Have you ever looked in the mirror and wondered, Who is that person? I don’t even know her! I do it all the time. I look and I think, I can’t possibly be that old! But I am! But the woman inside of me isn’t at all old. I know a lot of people much younger than I am who are a lot older inside!

In Not Ashamed, Charity Wright is only eighteen years old, but she’s just discovered the truth that she was born of a brutal rape, and that has distorted her image of herself so much that when she looks in the mirror, instead of seeing herself for the beautiful young woman she truly is, she sees herself as too tall, too big, too ugly, too…you get the picture. Sometimes our self-image can be so distorted by the circumstances of our lives that we can’t see ourselves as we truly are, at all. God doesn’t want us to have a puffed- up image of ourselves, but He doesn’t want us to have a poor self-image either. The Bible says we should know the Truth, and the Truth will set us free. He is the Truth. He is the mirror we should use to see ourselves by.

I’m so glad we have a Savior who sees us exactly as we are. He knows the number of the hairs on our head. He knows every flaw, every scar, every hidden vice or habit, every evil thought even. Yet He loves us anyway. We don’t have to pretend with Him. No amount of cosmetics or false airs could ever deceive Him or make Him love us any more or any less than He already does. What a freedom that knowledge is. God loves me. The King of the Universe cares so much for me He died to give me a life with Him forever! As my former pastor used to say, “Doesn’t that make you just want to mark off a spot, and have a fit?” It does for me.

It makes me able to face that old image in the mirror, and tell she may be real on the outside, but she’s still not me. She’s just the mortal shell that holds the real me.   I’m a child of the King, and when I cry, “Abba, Father,” He hears me, and He sees not just the outside, but the inside too. And He loves me with an Amazing Love that will sustain me not just for this life, but for all eternity. And when I get there, that old image will be gone forever. God bless you. Teresa

Teresa Pollard bookNot Ashamed

Charity Wright is ashamed of who she is. She just found out she was born of a brutal rape. Now, everyone tells her that her biological father has changed. They say he’s a good man who only helps people. They say she must forgive him. But do people really change? Especially when they’ve done something so heinous? Is forgiveness even possible?

Before she can confront her father with his crime, she almost literally stumbles onto another crime. In the same place. Has the rapist also become a murderer? Can Charity discover the truth before the killer strikes again? Or will her fury destroy her?

This entry was posted in Devotions, Guest Authors, Sharpened By the Word by Tamera Lynn Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Lynn Kraft

Tamera Lynn Kraft has always loved adventures and writes Christian historical fiction set in America because there are so many adventures in American history. She is married to the love of her life, has two grown children, and lives in Akron, Ohio. Soldier’s Heart and A Christmas Promise are two of her historical novellas that have been published. She has received 2nd place in the NOCW contest, 3rd place TARA writer’s contest, and is a finalist in the Frasier Writing Contest.

Leave a Reply

