Guest Author Ane Mulligan – Pigeon Days

Ane-PR.headshot copyWhile a floppy straw hat is her favorite, novelist Ane Mulligan has worn several including legislative affairs director (a fancy name for a lobbyist), drama director, playwright, humor columnist, and novelist. She believes coffee and chocolate are two of the four major food groups.

Ane writes her Southern-fried fiction in Sugar Hill, GA, where she resides with her artist husband, her chef son, and two dogs of Biblical proportion. Chapel Springs Revival released in 2014, followed by Chapel Springs Survival, Oct 2015, Home to Chapel Springs, May 2016.

You can find Ane on her Southern-fried Fiction website, Novel Rocket, Google+, Facebook, Goodreads, Twitter, and Pinterest

Pigeon Days

by Ane Mulligan

Ane statueI’ve learned in life you have to accept that some days you’re the pigeon and some days you’re the statue.

Have you noticed that? I love the days where everything goes my way. But the others? Well, frankly they stink. Those are statue days.

Come on, it can’t be just me. Surely, you’ve experienced that? No? Maybe I got your share of statue days. If so, I’d like to give them back.

Like the other day. I decide I need to start getting ready for the conference I’m going to in September. I need a pair of shoes that are both comfortable but stylish. I’ve given up on the 6″ heels. My feet too small to do those. Besides, I have to be able to walk. With heels longer than my legs, it wouldn’t be a pretty sight.

And what happened to style in a lower heel? It’s nonexistent. All the shoes I see are either orthopedic or downright dangerous. I give up on the shoes and decide to try on a couple of new tops to go with my nifty travel pants.

Now, I’ve been sweating to the oldies at Curves for 8 years. I’ve lost a lot of inches but not a lot of pounds. But that’s okay. It’s the dress size that matters, right? And if anyone gets nosy, I keep a stack of old size tags to sew into my new clothes.

Because the good Lord—and my mother—endowed me abundantly, I wear a different size pants than top. I’m no Dolly Parton, but I do have to buy separates. The thing that really bugs me is the same Curves machine that’s supposed to remove the rolls on my back also increases the bust. Go figure.

So, I’m in the department store. Having left the shoe section empty-handed, I head toward the tops. I have a long, black, shimmery skirt for the awards banquet with a draping, flowy, black and white, chiffon, long sleeved jacket to go with it. I decided a sparkly red blouse would be the perfect addition to finish the outfit.

You think I can find one? Ha! It’s a statue day. I should give up and go home, because everything I see that is remotely within 30 miles of what I want is made for a 17 year-old body. We won’t discuss my age – but 17 passed donkey’s years ago.

I take several into the dressing room. I hate the mirrors in those dressing rooms. They reflect the twisting gyrations I go through to get the first one on. It refuses to go past my armpits. The second one resembles a potato sack. Not the look I’m going for.

The next one is open to my navel. I look down. My outie became an innie 10 pounds ago. Daunted but not out yet, I hit all the major department stores at the Mall of Georgia. Nada. Zip. Absotootinglutely nothing. I go home in a grumbling funk. It’s definitely a statue day.

I don’t stay down for long, so the next day I go to another store. They had a sale. Within 5 minutes of entering the doors, I score. A shiny red top, perfect in size and fit, and on sale. For 9 bucks.

I love pigeon days.

Ane CSR COVERChapel Springs Revival

With a friend like Claire, you’ll need a gurney, a mop, and a guardian angel.

Everybody in the small town of Chapel Springs, Georgia, knows best friends Claire and Patsy. It’s impossible not to, what with Claire’s zany antics and Patsy’s self-appointed mission to keep her friend out of trouble. And trouble abounds. Chapel Springs has grown dilapidated and the tourist trade has slackened. With their livelihoods threatened, they join forces to revitalize the town. No one could have guessed the real issue needing restoration is their marriages. Claire and Patsy embark on a mission of mishaps and miscommunication, determined to restore warmth to Chapel Springs —and their lives.

You can purchase Chapel Springs Revival in paperback or EBook on Amazon.

This entry was posted in Devotions, Guest Posts by Other Authors, Life Sharpeners by Tamera Lynn Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Lynn Kraft

Tamera Lynn Kraft has always loved adventures and writes Christian historical fiction set in America because there are so many adventures in American history. She is married to the love of her life, has two grown children, and lives in Akron, Ohio. Soldier’s Heart and A Christmas Promise are two of her historical novellas that have been published. She has received 2nd place in the NOCW contest, 3rd place TARA writer’s contest, and is a finalist in the Frasier Writing Contest.

5 thoughts on “Guest Author Ane Mulligan – Pigeon Days

Leave a Reply

