Are You Lukewarm? – How a 100 Year Prayer Meeting Changed the Temperature of the World

Revelation 14:15 I know your works, that you are neither cold nor hot: I would that you were cold or hot. (NKJV)

A couple of weeks ago, I taught a home Bible study about not being lukewarm. I taught about Laodicea and how they got their water from outside the city. There were two springs, a hot spring and a cold spring.

Both were refreshing. Who wouldn’t want a cold glass of water on a hot day or a nice cup of tea or coffee made out of hot water on a cold day?

When the water reached the city, the most important people of the city drank first. By the time the common man drank, the water took on the attributes of the environment and became lukewarm. I couldn’t help but see where I take on attributes of the environment around me. This seems to be the state of the church in the world today.

That got me thinking about my novella, A Christmas Promise, a story about the Moravians in the 18th century. The Moravians didn’t let the culture around them influence them. They were hot or cold, not lukewarm. They influenced the culture.

In 1727, the Moravians started a round the clock prayer meeting. These prayers didn’t cease for a hundred years. I wonder if our nation or our world would be any different if we prayed like they did. I wonder if our lives would be different.

But it wasn’t just prayer that influenced the people around them. The Moravians sent over 3,000 missionaries around the world to share the Gospel at a time when the only mode of travel was a long sea voyage.

Plantation owners in Saint Thomas told these missionaries they weren’t welcome to preach to the men’s slaves or share the Gospel with them. So two Moravian men sold themselves into slavery so they could tell the slaves about Jesus.

These people weren’t lukewarm. They didn’t let the atmosphere influence them. They went out and influenced the world around them. The result was a Great Awakening and missionary movement that is still changing the world today. We could do the same, but we can’t do it if we allow the atmosphere around us to make us lukewarm.

I want to be hot, on fire and passionate about God, or cold, refreshing and comforting to those who need a drink from God’s fountain. I don’t want to be lukewarm, but sometimes I am.

One thing I know is when I pray consistently, as the Moravians did, and ask God to start a fire in my soul, I am not as affected by the world around me. That’s when I stay hot or cold for Jesus.

This entry was posted in Church History, Devotions, History, Sharpened By the Word by Tamera Lynn Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Lynn Kraft

Tamera Lynn Kraft has always loved adventures and writes Christian historical fiction set in America because there are so many adventures in American history. She is married to the love of her life, has two grown children, and lives in Akron, Ohio. Soldier’s Heart and A Christmas Promise are two of her historical novellas that have been published. She has received 2nd place in the NOCW contest, 3rd place TARA writer’s contest, and is a finalist in the Frasier Writing Contest.

4 thoughts on “Are You Lukewarm? – How a 100 Year Prayer Meeting Changed the Temperature of the World

Leave a Reply

