Review of Surprised by Love by Julie Lessman

Surprised by LoveSurprised by Love

by Julie Lessman

Book 3 of Hearts of San Francisco Series

Description:

From Ugly Duckling

to Swimming with the Swans …

but is she over her head

when it comes to love?

As a shy and pudgy child, Megan McClare has always been ridiculed by her classmates, but when she returns from her senior year in Paris, the wallflower has suddenly blossomed into a beauty. Hopeful of becoming a lawyer or doctor to help the disadvantaged women of the Barbary Coast, Megan accepts an internship at the District Attorney’s office only to discover she’ll be working with the boy who mocked her in school. She turns to her best friend Bram for support and advice, and Bram—fighting an unwelcome attraction to a friend he’s always perceived as a little sister—encourages Meg to forgive Devin and pursue a friendship. The friendship with Devin evolves into a serious romance, but when a sailboat accident tosses Bram and Meg into the seas of attraction, both her heart and her emotions capsize, threatening to change the course of love …

My Review:  ♥  ♥  ♥  ♥  ♥

It should be no surprise to anyone who reads this blog regularly that, even though I’m not a big romance reader, I’m a huge fan of Julie Lessman. Her historical romances have a way of added twists and surprises even though I know it will all turn out all right in the end. She’s a romance writer that can keep me on the edge of my seat as much as any suspense author I’ve read. And she adds passion to every page – passion for God and passion between couples falling in love.

Surprised by Love was no exception. My heart ached for Bram and Megan as they struggled through seeing each other in a new way. She was always the shy little girl he adored as a friend, but she came back from Paris as a beautiful young woman ready for love. Only Megan is a beautiful on the inside as she is on the outside.

What did surprise me is how much I loved this novel. I knew I would love it, but since reading Julie Lessman’s earlier series about the O’Conner family, I never had as much attraction to the McClare family. The San Francisco novels were great, but I missed the O’Conners. That is until I read Surprised by Love. What surprised me was that this is one of the best novels Julie Lessman has ever written – and that’s saying a lot. The aghast and passion in this novel almost made me forget about the O’Conner family and her past novel series. I highly recommend it.

This entry was posted in Fiction Reviews, My Reviews by Tamera Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Kraft

Tamera Kraft has been a children’s pastor for over 20 years. She is the leader of a ministry called Revival Fire For Kids where she mentors other children’s leaders, teaches workshops, and is a children’s ministry consultant and children’s evangelist. She is also a writer and has curriculum published including Kid Konnection 5: Kids Entering the Presence of God published by Pathway Press. She is a recipient of the 2007 National Children’s Leaders Association Shepherd’s Cup for lifetime achievement in children’s ministry.

5 thoughts on “Review of Surprised by Love by Julie Lessman

  1. TAMERA!!! Thank you SO much for the FABULOUS review, my friend, and for just reading my books in the first place. 🙂

    I am entering you in my contest, so let me know if you post this review anywhere else, okay?
    Hugs and more hugs!!
    Julie

  2. Beautiful review, Tamera!! Thank you!!

    I had the same reservations re: accepting the McClare family after falling in love with the heart-warming O’Connor family in Julie’s other novels. However, just like you – “Surprised by Love” sealed the deal for me. It definitely is a beautiful, perfect ending to the series and one of Julie’s very best novels – which I’ve heard so many other people say, also!!

    Nothing gives me more joy than a new novel from Julie!! The enjoyment and inspiration is ALWAYS immense and I have great expectations for her coming series, her first contemporary, “Isle of Hope”!! She is one awesome, masterful, inspiring author – who is even more inspiring in real life and one of my very favorite authors!! Love Julie and her novels!!

    Shared post!!

  3. Pingback: Top 10 Novels and Top 5 Non-fiction Books of 2014 | Word Sharpeners

Leave a Reply

