Meet My Character: Anna Brunner from A Christmas Promise

Today I was challenged to interview my character, Anna Brunner, from my novella, A Christmas Promise. I was challenge by Amy C. Blake. You can read her interview with her character at this link.

Meet the Character: Anna Brunner

1. What is the name of your character? Is he/she fictional or a historic person?

Anna Brunner is a fictional character from a real setting in history. Many of the background characters in the novel were real live people.

Schoenbrunn Cabin2. Anna, tell us a little about your home? 

The setting is Schoenbrunn Village in Northeast Ohio during Christmas, 1773. Schoenbrunn is the first village in Ohio. We are Moravian missionaries who moved to Ohio just last year to bring the Gospel to the Lenape Indians. This Christmas we’ll be able to have our Christmas Lovefeast in our newly built church. We also have a school that not only teaches Lenape Indians to read the Bible in their own language, but it also teaches girls. My three girls will have an education that most women never have the opportunity for.

But things aren’t easy for us. Some of the Native American tribes don’t want to hear about Jesus. They are marauders who are hostile to their neighbors. It’s difficult to trust God in such trying times, especially with my husband away meeting with one of those tribes. When I’m plagued with worry, I try to keep in mind the motto of Moravian missionaries throughout the world, “May the Lamb that was slain receive the reward of His suffering” I’m ashamed to admit it, but sometimes I’m afraid for my family.

3. What should we know about you? 

I was born in Bethlehem Pennsylvania. My parents were Moravian missionaries there, and that’s where John proposed marriage. I told him that I would marry him only if he vowed to spend his life serving God. I didn’t need to bother. He’s more committed to the cause than I am. But it became harder for me after tragedy struck my oldest, Noah. He fell down a hole in a cave he was exploring and died. Since then, I can’t help but worry that something else is going to happen. I didn’t want to come to primitive Ohio. It’s too dangerous. But John insisted.

4. What are you struggling with now?

John has gone off with a new Lenape convert, Paul. I don’t trust Paul. He’s too primitive. But John trusts everyone. They went to the next village to share the Gospel with a Native Tribe. John promised to be home by Christmas, but I’m afraid he might never come home. How am I going to raise three children on my own with a baby on the way?

5. What is your personal goal? 

I know I need to trust God with my worries, but sometimes it’s too hard. The anxiety overwhelms me. It’s something I’ve prayed about and am working at.

AChristmasPromise_med6) What is the title for this novel, and can we read more about it?

The name of the novella is A Christmas Promise published through Pelican Book Group.

7. Where can we buy this book?

AMAZON

PELICAN BOOK GROUP

CHRISTIANBOOK

BARNES AND NOBLE

This entry was posted in Our Books News by Tamera Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Kraft

Tamera Kraft has been a children’s pastor for over 20 years. She is the leader of a ministry called Revival Fire For Kids where she mentors other children’s leaders, teaches workshops, and is a children’s ministry consultant and children’s evangelist. She is also a writer and has curriculum published including Kid Konnection 5: Kids Entering the Presence of God published by Pathway Press. She is a recipient of the 2007 National Children’s Leaders Association Shepherd’s Cup for lifetime achievement in children’s ministry.

3 thoughts on “Meet My Character: Anna Brunner from A Christmas Promise

  1. Pingback: Word Sharpener Week | Word Sharpeners

  2. Pingback: Christmas Extravaganza – A Christmas Promise | Word Sharpeners

Leave a Reply

