Ginger Solomon – Food, the Best of Times or the Worst

Ginger picGinger Solomon

Ginger Solomon is a Christian, a wife, a mother to seven, and a writer — in that order (mostly). When not homeschooling her youngest five, doing laundry or fixing dinner, she writes or reads romance of any genre, some sci-fi/fantasy, and some suspense. She’s a member of American Christian Fiction Writers, president of her local writing group, and writes regularly for three blogs. In addition to all that, she loves animals, horses especially, likes to do needlework (knitting, crocheting, and sometimes cross-stitch), and loves to sing in the choir at church.

You can find here at these links:

Food, the Best of Times or the Worst

Food — we have to deal with it every day. For some of us, it has become a thorn in the flesh, a daily temptation to eat more than we should, or eat things that taste scrumptious, but react badly with our bodies.

When getting to know a person, we go through a gambit of questions: what’s your favorite color, author, food? I’ve decided I don’t have a favorite food. I like to eat a lot of things. Low Mein might be my favorite today. Tomorrow it might be ice cream. The day after that might be steak. It really depends on my mood.

So that got me to thinking… what’s my LEAST favorite food? Hands down, no question about it, my most disliked meal is liver and onions. Both of my parents LOVED this meal, and I was forced to eat it as a child. I remember taking a bite, and then eating half a biscuit just to mask the flavor in my mouth. Blech! It makes me shudder even now – many, many years later.

There are several other foods I dislike, and because I’m the chief chef in our house, I don’t always make them. (Yeah, calling myself a chef is exaggerating my abilities in the kitchen, but hey, I’m writing this blog post, I can exaggerate some, right?) One of those foods is rice. Nope, I’m not a fan of rice. However, my husband is, so I make it for him, but I always make sure to prepare some type of gravy or put it with something else that will mask the flavor, well, the lack of flavor.

I have a son who doesn’t like potatoes. He’ll eat potato chips and thin-cut French fries, but we all know those aren’t really potatoes anymore. Even when he was first starting to eat solid foods and I would feed him mashed potatoes, he would spit them out (sometimes violently, if you get my meaning). Now he’s in his twenties and still won’t eat potatoes — not mashed, baked, roasted or in any way resembling a real potato. He says it’s the texture.

Actually several of my children have food aversions. One daughter dislikes seafood – fish, shrimp, whatever. It doesn’t matter. She won’t eat it. Another child doesn’t like broccoli. Two others hate green beans. One doesn’t like oranges or bananas. And in case you’re counting, I have one child who will eat almost anything I put in front of him, though he’s not real keen on vegetable soup.

In my new release, One Choice, Cahri, my heroine, doesn’t like eggs. She’s tried them several ways – scrambled, poached, boiled, and, in the book, she tries them fried with a dried Turkish sausage, similar to American pastrami. And once again, she finds them distasteful.

Sometimes it doesn’t matter how something is cooked, nothing can mask the flavor or texture. Liver is one of those foods for me. What is your least liked food?

OneChoice 453x680One Choice

by Ginger Solomon

Cahri Michaels is American by birth, but Belikarian by choice. Being selected to participate in the Bridal March forces her to give up the independent life she’s created for herself. She’s not ready to be anyone’s wife, much less to a man she doesn’t know.

Prince Josiah Vallis despises the centuries old tradition—the Bridal March—that is forcing him to choose a wife from fifty women. Why does it matter that he’s twenty-five and still single?

When Cahri and Josiah meet, sparks fly. Will it ignite a godly love that can see them through or will they be burned, never to be the same?

You can purchase One Choice at these links:

This entry was posted in Guest Authors, Life Sharpeners by Tamera Lynn Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Lynn Kraft

Tamera Lynn Kraft has always loved adventures and writes Christian historical fiction set in America because there are so many adventures in American history. She is married to the love of her life, has two grown children, and lives in Akron, Ohio. Soldier’s Heart and A Christmas Promise are two of her historical novellas that have been published. She has received 2nd place in the NOCW contest, 3rd place TARA writer’s contest, and is a finalist in the Frasier Writing Contest.

4 thoughts on “Ginger Solomon – Food, the Best of Times or the Worst

Leave a Reply

