An Interview with Author Kimberly Rose Johnson

Christmas authorToday I’m interviewing author, Kimberly Rose Johnson. She has a new novel being released soon called The Christmas Promise.

What inspired you to write The Christmas Promise?

I don’t recall a sudden inspiration. I was at a point in my writing life that I needed to make a change. Up to this point I had been writing romantic suspense, and I couldn’t sell it. My agent suggested I try contemporary romance. I pondered the idea and considered where it should be set. Once I decided on the setting, I boarded a train and headed to Leavenworth, WA.

I spent a day wandering around the village and slowly the idea of a shop keeper percolated in my mind and then the story developed from there.

The Christmas Promise is a sweet romance with everything including a puppy. What is your idea of a perfect Christmas?

My dream Christmas would look like this. My family and I would be in a cabin-like home in the mountains. A gentle snow would be falling outside and a cozy fire would be burning in the fireplace. We’d have a beautiful tree and the home would be decorated with rustic decorations. We’d spend the day watching Christmas movies, eating lots of food and playing in the snow.

Now for my idea of the perfect Christmas in the realm of reality—I be with my family either at our house or my parents’. We’d relax and munch on our favorite holiday food all day, then have a delicious meal about midway through the day.

Tell us a little more about your characters, Pete and Keira.

Pete is a Veterinarian and relatively new to Leavenworth, WA. He cares about his friends and would do almost anything to help one. When he meets Keira he is attracted to her, but then he finds out she has a son. He’d been there and done that before and it hadn’t ended well. He is determined to never become involved with a single mother again, but Keira and her young son Cody wiggle their way into his life in an unexpected way.

Keira owns and operates a candy shop in the village which works out great for her since her apartment sits atop the business that she inherited from her late husband. She is raising their son, Cody alone and dealing with a lot of fear related to the death of her husband.

What are some of your favorite Christmas traditions?

My absolute favorite tradition is stockings. My husband and I rarely exchange gifts, but we always do stockings for each other. Another tradition I loved when my boys were young was reading the Christmas story to them. I have this fantastic picture book that lays the story out in a perfect way and our boys enjoyed it very much when they were small.

What is your favorite Christmas movie?

Believe it or not that’s tough question. Christmas movies are my favorite. Three stand out in my mind. The first is a classic, White Christmas. The other two are more modern and not all that famous: A Christmas Romance and Borrowed Hearts.

Christmas coverTell us about The Christmas Promise.

DR. PETE HARDING DOESN’T DATE SINGLE MOMS

No matter how lovely Keira Noble’s smile, or how adorable her four-year-old son. He’s been down that road before and knows it can lead to a broken heart. But that doesn’t mean he can’t help the pretty widow find a puppy to put under the Christmas tree for her son….

Pete claims he only wants to help her find the perfect gift for Cody. Yet Keira can’t deny the tender feelings in his eyes whenever he looks at her. Could this handsome Scrooge have a change of heart, and create a new family for Christmas?

What else are you working on?

The Christmas Promise is the first book in a series. I am working on the fourth book in the series.

Is there anything you’d like to add?

The second book, A Romance Rekindled, releases this coming June and is about Keira’s best friend Susan. J

How can we find you on the Web?

My website will take you to all of my social networking sites as well as my blog.  Thanks so much for having me!

http://www.kimberlyrjohnson.com/

This entry was posted in Book and Movie Reviews, Guest Authors, Uncategorized by Tamera Lynn Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Lynn Kraft

Tamera Lynn Kraft has always loved adventures and writes Christian historical fiction set in America because there are so many adventures in American history. She is married to the love of her life, has two grown children, and lives in Akron, Ohio. Soldier’s Heart and A Christmas Promise are two of her historical novellas that have been published. She has received 2nd place in the NOCW contest, 3rd place TARA writer’s contest, and is a finalist in the Frasier Writing Contest.

5 thoughts on “An Interview with Author Kimberly Rose Johnson

Leave a Reply

