An Interview with Noah Andrews

Soldiers HeartToday I thought we’d have some fun and interview the main character of my Civil War novella, Soldier’s Heart. Noah Andrews, a Union soldier with the Ohio Seventh Regiment has just returned home.

Hi, Sergeant Andrews. I wondered if I might have a few words with you.

I don’t know. I just got back. I need to find my wife, Molly.

From what I understand, you and Molly are newlyweds. Didn’t you just get married before you joined the army.

That’s right. I’d been in love with Molly for years, but I waited to court her until her fourteenth birthday. I’m four years older than her. Her father insisted we wait until she was sixteen before we wed. That was the day before I shipped out.

That must have been hard leaving your new bride.

It was. But I had a duty to my country.

You must be very proud of your service. Some are calling you a hero.

I’m no hero. The men in my squad… They were the heroes.

Weren’t they killed in Ringgold Gap?

I don’t want to talk about this. I need to find Molly.

I understand. I only have one more question. How do you feel about returning home to Ravenna when the war is still being fought? Do you have any thoughts of reenlisting?

Never. I’m not going back. I did my duty. What more do you want of me?

No need to get angry, Sergeant Andrews. I’m just asking questions.

This interview is over. I just want to be left alone so I can find my wife and live the rest of my life being a farmer.

Sergeant Andrews. Sergeant Andrews. I was about to thank Sergeant Andrews for his service, but he took off in a huff. I hope he and his wife will be very happy, but he needs to get over his moodiness about the war.

If you’d like to learn more about Noah Andrews and his wife, Molly, order Soldier’s Heart here.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Tamera Lynn Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Lynn Kraft

Tamera Lynn Kraft has always loved adventures and writes Christian historical fiction set in America because there are so many adventures in American history. She is married to the love of her life, has two grown children, and lives in Akron, Ohio. Soldier’s Heart and A Christmas Promise are two of her historical novellas that have been published. She has received 2nd place in the NOCW contest, 3rd place TARA writer’s contest, and is a finalist in the Frasier Writing Contest.

Leave a Reply

