Writer’s Conference Prep: What To Bring To Your Appointment

Most writers will tell you the only thing you need to bring to an appointment with and editor or agent and a writer’s conference is a One Sheet. While this may be true, I believe in being prepared. These are the things I suggest you bring to your appointment.

One Sheet: One sheets are nice for editor and agents because they only have one sheet to take on the plane home. But I suspect that most One Sheets are disposed of unless the agent was unduly impressed with the writer. Still they’re nice to have because they do have all the information you need to make your pitch.

First Five Pages: If the agent or editor looks interested, it’s nice to mention that you have the first five pages of your novel if they’d like to look at it.

Author Page: This is a One Sheet with the purpose of telling about the author. If you’ve had anything published or have any other information an agent would be interested in knowing, this would be the sheet to present.

Synopsis or Summary: It’s very unlikely you’ll get to this point. If the agent is interested after the One Sheet and the First Five Pages, he’ll tell you to send him the rest. But my motto is be prepared.

One Sheets, First Five Pages, and Synopsis of other projects: You decide to pitch that historical you wrote about the Civil War and the agent says they already have too many of that time period. What she’s really looking for is something having to do with the War of 1812. You’ve written a novel about that war, but at the time, nobody wanted it. If you have available information on every book you’ve written, you can change your pitch to another novel without missing a beat.

Business Cards: You won’t really need these, but they’re fun to hand out to friends you meet at the conference. You can get nice looking business cards at Vistaprint.

Of course you don’t want to carry a filing cabinet or a big briefcase to the meeting, so here’s some ways to organize you’re information.

Accordion File: These are very portable and have files for each project.

Folders: You could purchase an oversized folder for each project and carry them in a folder binder.

Conference Notebook: This is my favorite idea for carrying everything you need. This link  will tell you how to make your own Conference Notebook.

This entry was posted in Sharpening Our Writing, Writing Conferences and tagged , by Tamera Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Kraft

Tamera Kraft has been a children’s pastor for over 20 years. She is the leader of a ministry called Revival Fire For Kids where she mentors other children’s leaders, teaches workshops, and is a children’s ministry consultant and children’s evangelist. She is also a writer and has curriculum published including Kid Konnection 5: Kids Entering the Presence of God published by Pathway Press. She is a recipient of the 2007 National Children’s Leaders Association Shepherd’s Cup for lifetime achievement in children’s ministry.

5 thoughts on “Writer’s Conference Prep: What To Bring To Your Appointment

  1. Great Conference prep article and thanks for the link! I think the more someone is prepared, the less nervous they feel during and appointment. I’m not going to conference this year, but you reminded me I have a bunch of posts I should repost for those who are!

  2. Thank you for this information. I used your One Page format and just love it. This is my first conference at FWA in Florida. I am a finalist for flash fiction in the RPLA Competition. Winners will be announced at the conference banquet. Need all the help I can get. I will share your blog with my writer critique group.

    God Bless You.

  3. Although I agree about bringing one sheets, first five pages, and info for the next novel just in case, I didn’t use any of these at my last appointments. The agents and editors wanted to talk to me, not read. I like having those for myself so I don’t get too tongue tied.

    Terry Burns, I think in his book A Writer’s Survival Guide to Getting Published, said that the purpose of an interview (at least from his perspective) is for the agent and writer to learn if they would be a good fit for each other. This is great advice to keep in mind.

  4. I agree with you about the interview, Bonnie. The purpose of a One Sheet is not so you can read your pitch off of it instead of talking to the agent or editor. The purpose is so you have something for them to take home to remind them of your conversation.

Leave a Reply

