Saddle Up Anyway

 

John Wayne once said “Courage is being scared to death – but saddling up anyway.” There’s a lot of spiritual truth in that statement. Fear isn’t necessarily the emotion of being afraid. It’s allowing that emotion to stop you from fulfilling the plan God has for you. That’s why God speaks so often in His Word about fear. Here are a few of those verses:

Deuteronomy 31:6  Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.”

Joshua 1:9  Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.”

1 Chronicles 28:20  David also said to Solomon his son, “Be strong and courageous, and do the work. Do not be afraid or discouraged, for the LORD God, my God, is with you. He will not fail you or forsake you until all the work for the service of the temple of the LORD is finished.

Isaiah 41:10  So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Isaiah 43:1-2  But now, this is what the LORD says– he who create you, O Jacob, he who formed you, O Israel: “Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.

Matthew 10:28  Do not be afraid of those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. Rather, be afraid of the One who can destroy both soul and body in hell.

1 Corinthians 16:13  Be on your guard; stand firm in the faith; be men of courage; be strong.

Many times, we don’t admit that it’s fear that holds us back from going forward. We justify our cowardice in these ways:

It’s not the right time. Sometimes it isn’t the right time, but we can move in the direction God wants us to go until the time is right. When it’s the right time, we can depend upon Him to open up the doors.

I don’t have time. There’s an old adage. We find time for what we really want to do. In this busy world, we need to adjust out schedules to find time for what’s important instead of using it as an excuse.

I don’t have the ability or resources. God rarely gives us a mission or goal where we have the ability and resources to carry it out on our own. If He did, we wouldn’t need to rely upon Him.

Plan B. Many times, we fear that if we move forward on what God wants us to do, we might fail. So we develop a plan B instead of burning our bridges behind us and trusting God to work things out. One of the greatest examples of a plan B was when Sarah gave her servant to Abraham, and Ishmael was born. God wants us to have faith. Plan B shows our lack of faith.

I admit I’ve been guilty of all of these. But let’s commit to going forward with the plans God has for us. I’ve decided that when I’m scared, I’m going to saddle up anyway.

Leave a comment and let me know what area of your live that you’ve decided to saddle up anyway.

This entry was posted in Devotions, encouragement for writers, Sharpened By the Word by Tamera Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Kraft

Tamera Kraft has been a children’s pastor for over 20 years. She is the leader of a ministry called Revival Fire For Kids where she mentors other children’s leaders, teaches workshops, and is a children’s ministry consultant and children’s evangelist. She is also a writer and has curriculum published including Kid Konnection 5: Kids Entering the Presence of God published by Pathway Press. She is a recipient of the 2007 National Children’s Leaders Association Shepherd’s Cup for lifetime achievement in children’s ministry.

4 thoughts on “Saddle Up Anyway

  1. If you put a picture of John Wayne on your site, by law I am required to stop by and comment. 🙂

    I especially like your comment about resources and how we rarely have what we need to accomplish the goal. It takes faith and courage to rely on God. Thanks for posting!

    • I’m a big fan of John Wayne too. I’m glad you enjoyed the article. It seems God never gives me the resources I need until I do what He says. Thanks for stopping by, Tom.

  2. I relate to this on so many levels. If I hadn’t made myself get back on my motorcycle, I’d not be riding today! And who knows if I’d ever written the book I just released? As for no resources, there’s a song that I can’t remember the name of but it talks about using what’s in your hand right now. And isn’t that what the widow did with the oil and flour? I am doing that right now. Just trusting God because I don’t have the resources to do what I know I’m called to do but am trusting that help is on the way! Good post!

    • Wow, Karla, I love the idea of a pastor’s wife riding a motorcycle. People are always surprised that I go target shooting with my hubby. They’re even more surprised that I can shoot so well. That’s a good point about the widow and the flour and oil. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

