Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

Hunger Games Trilogy

by Suzanne Collins


Book 1: The Hunger Games

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before-and survived.

Book 2: Catching Fire

Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has won the annual Hunger Games with fellow district tribute Peeta Mellark. But it was a victory won by defiance of the Capitol and their harsh rules. Katniss and Peeta should be happy. After all, they have just won for themselves and their families a life of safety and plenty. But there are rumors of rebellion among the subjects, and Katniss and Peeta, to their horror, are the faces of that rebellion. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge.

Book 3: Mockingjay

The greatly anticipated final book in the New York Times bestselling Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins.

The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge.

Who do they think should pay for the unrest?

Katniss Everdeen.

The final book in The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins will have hearts racing, pages turning, and everyone talking about one of the biggest and most talked-about books and authors in recent publishing history!!!!

My Review:  ♥  ♥  ♥  ♥  ♥

Katniss Everdeen is a normal girl in a future America gone astray. In this frightening future, survival, oppression, hunger, poverty, and disease are facts of life. But in this world, a teenager’s greatest fear is being selected for the annual hunger games, games that determine which district gets enough grain to eat for the next year. There is only one winner in the hunger games, the one who kills off all of his or her opponents. This year, Katniss is in the games.

I reluctantly read this series at the insistence of my daughter. I normally don’t enjoy the latest pop culture novel. But I was wrong about Hunger Games Series. These novels are among the best I’ve ever read. There are so many nuances about our culture in the novels while making it so the reader never catches her breath. Every time I thought I had a handle on what would happen next, another plot twist threw me for a loop. These novels are the 1984 of our time. I highly recommend them. My only warning is to buy all three. You’ll want to start the next novel as soon as you finish the first. I love this series!

This entry was posted in Book and Movie Reviews, Book Fiction Reviews by Tamera Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Kraft

Tamera Kraft has been a children’s pastor for over 20 years. She is the leader of a ministry called Revival Fire For Kids where she mentors other children’s leaders, teaches workshops, and is a children’s ministry consultant and children’s evangelist. She is also a writer and has curriculum published including Kid Konnection 5: Kids Entering the Presence of God published by Pathway Press. She is a recipient of the 2007 National Children’s Leaders Association Shepherd’s Cup for lifetime achievement in children’s ministry.

One thought on “Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

  1. Pingback: Favorite Books I’ve Read in 2013 | Word Sharpeners

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s