Carrie Fancett Pagels – Attention to the Small Things and 2 Giveaways

carrie_head_shot_shrink_(2)Attention to the Small Things

by Carrie Fancett Pagels

God gives us small things to test us. Don’t despise the small things in your writing life.  This could mean working in a service position in your local group.  Could mean a blog with few readers but that you faithfully work on. My first blogging was on ShoutLife and no one read my blog posts.  Then a few people did.  I was so excited the day that I saw 9 people had read my little post!!!

Don’t be “too good” to work on a small project. Or to have too little time for a newbie.  I’m not saying to have boundaries, but don’t go into writing life with the notion that you won’t be one of those “worker bees” as I have heard some writers describe the very people who assist in their writing organizations!

I recently had a multi-published author ask me how I had connected with another well-known best-selling author who she hoped to contact—the question came from someone with a couple of dozen books out. Simple—the Overcoming With God gang asked the well-known best-selling author on our blog.  We prayed first because we were a pretty small blog but our reviewers loved this person’s books and I loved her heart and testimony. And I got to meet her at a conference and spend some time with her. My little step, from God, was to ask for her interview. So sometimes that “little step” of swallowing your pride and risking someone might reject your request may result in an ongoing writerly friendship.

The main thing is to keep God at the center of your writing life and to do what He asks you. Pure and simple.  He tells you to ask about guest posting on a ginormous blog—do it.  He tells you to spend an hour helping someone whose writing is a 1 on a scale of 1 to 5—do it.  For Him.

Faithfulness in those little tasks will result in God giving you bigger projects to work on for Him and His glory. And that’s what it’s all about.

Meet the Author:

Carrie Fancett Pagels (www.carriefancettpagels.com) writes “romantic” historical fiction.  Carrie’s upcoming release “Return to Shirley Plantation: A Civil War Romance” is part of a multi-author anthology headed up by Murray Pura. Carrie is represented by Joyce Hart of Hartline Literary Agency and is owner/administrator of two group blogs: “Colonial Quills” (http://colonialquills.blogspot.com) and “Overcoming With God” (www.overcomingwithGod.com). Carrie was a psychologist for twenty-five years. She is a contributor to a nonfiction anthology God’s Provision in Tough Times by Cynthia Howerter and La-Tan Murphy, releasing in May 2013.

Facebook Author Page http://www.facebook.com/pages/Carrie-Fancett-Pagels/317053071710640?fref=ts

Facebook Personal Page http://www.facebook.com/carriefancettpagels

Twitter https://twitter.com/cfpagels

Pinterest http://pinterest.com/carriefpagels/

GoodReads http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/5548131-carrie-pagels

LinkedIn http://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=131454255&trk=tab_pro

I have an upcoming ebook releasing in April 2013. This is part of a multi-author anthology through Helping Hand Press. Murray Pura heads up this project and is also the editor. Contributors range from short story (7000 words) up to larger novella (25,000 words). As my husband has reminded me, this is not a full book length publication.  But it is a start.  And I will not despise the smaller things God gives me. For if I am faithful in the little things I pray I will be faithful in the larger.

Question: What about you?  Are you a writer who has been holding out and are only interested in writing trade-length book projects? Ask God to show you if you should pursue shorter writing projects or other writing-related tasks.

2 Giveaways:

Carrie is giving away a packet of beautiful notecards depicting Shirley Plantation’s many charms and a PDF copy of Carrie’s upcoming release Return to Shirley Plantation: A Civil War Romance.  Leave a comment answering the following question by next Friday to enter.

Question: What is one thing you wish Civil War romance writers would leave out of their books?

Carrie’s Soon to Be Released Books:

51SwEN2p0IL__SL500_AA300_

01ShirleyPlantation_RtSP_coverCry of Freedom: An American Civil War Series, Volume 1

Return to Shirley Plantation

A Civil War Romance

Abducted against his will, Matthew Scott is conscripted into the Confederate army because of his Copperhead father’s political leanings. Injured at Malvern Hill, Matthew is taken by the Union army to Shirley Plantation in Virginia where he is tended by seamstress Angelina Rose, a freed slave. Given an opportunity to leave the South and start a new life for herself, Angelina remained for the sake of her sister’s orphaned twins who are still enslaved. Will Matthew’s return to Shirley Plantation settle a mystery concerning his father’s past? And help Matthew find the family he longs for.

This entry was posted in Encouragement, Guest Posts by Other Authors, My Reviews, Sharpening Our Writing by Tamera Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Kraft

Tamera Kraft has been a children’s pastor for over 20 years. She is the leader of a ministry called Revival Fire For Kids where she mentors other children’s leaders, teaches workshops, and is a children’s ministry consultant and children’s evangelist. She is also a writer and has curriculum published including Kid Konnection 5: Kids Entering the Presence of God published by Pathway Press. She is a recipient of the 2007 National Children’s Leaders Association Shepherd’s Cup for lifetime achievement in children’s ministry.

51 thoughts on “Carrie Fancett Pagels – Attention to the Small Things and 2 Giveaways

  1. There are so many things I could say, but I will just offer one thing. So many Civil War novels portray life on large plantations in the deep South, as if that’s all there was in those days. There were plenty of small farms all over the South that did not have an army of slaves. Many families were subsistence farmers who suffered greatly from the upheaval caused by the war.

  2. Carrie, wonderful post. You are so right. Don’t despise the day of humble beginnings. It may be where the anointing is, and the blessing. I can’t wait for folks to read your fantastic novella. They are going to so live it, as you know I did. ❤

  3. Thanks Tamera for having me on your blog! I am just a contributor to the nonfiction book. There are over two dozen stories of God’s Provision in Tough Times! Mine is just one. Cynthia and LaTan worked very hard on this book which releases in May.

    • Thanks, Carrie, for your great post. I knew you were a contributor but wanted to give a shout out about it anyway. As far as your question, I love Civil War novels, but the one thing that bothers me about a few of them is when they downplay the role of slavery instead of showing it for the horror it was.

  4. I’m so looking forward to reading your books, Carrie. You’re novella is sure to be a fabulous story! I enjoyed your interview and I wish you much success.
    All the best,
    ~Jen~

  5. Great post, Carrie. I’m always trying to keep God at the center of what I’m doing (hard to do with all the other “noise” out there). Thanks for the reminder! God bless!

  6. Carrie simply makes time for the extra effort. She has such a big heart and is so full of enthusiasm and warmth. I’m not at all surprised by anything she does and accomplishes, any more. I’m really looking forward to the story set at Shirley Plantation!

  7. Carrie, thanks for sharing. Being humble enough to start with small steps is wise counsel indeed. I was once doing consultations at a writers conference and an aspiring writer asked me, “How do I make sure that my query letter or article submission is accepted? I don’t want to waste my time with rejection.” She didn’t like my answer, of course, which was that we all have to do things when we are uncertain of the outcome. Rejection is just part of the industry, but we can keep learning and honing our skills no matter what. This example related to journalism, but the same applies whether we are writing short stories or novels or anything else. Just keep plugging away–and there are really no shortcuts to getting better.

  8. I just wanted to come by and offer my support and let you know I’m bursting my buttons with pride over all of your accomplishments! None of them are small in my eyes b/c I know how much blood, sweat, and tears you put into all of them. And also to thank you for giving me a chance to do something I love doing…even though I got 5 comments for my very first review, I think! 🙂 As the old adage says, “Never despise humble beginnings.” It’s what keeps us humble….

    • Oh you are so sweet, Diana! I bet you loved my comment about what Big Sweetie said, lol! And thank you for being our OWG senior reviewer. You have been such a blessing! We are coming up on our anniversary together!!! Hugs!!

  9. Waving to Carrie from the other end of the ocean. 🙂 So happy to know you and proud to call you my friend. I know how hard you work and am SO happy with your upcoming release of RtSP!! Yay!
    I’m really looking forward to reading your story… *hint*

    • Haha, Marian, I guess I better do that last little round of final edits before I share with you and send on to the editor, Murray! Thanks so much for your kind words! I am so glad God brought you to OWG all the way from the Netherlands! Hugs!

  10. Carrie I just wanted to drop by and tell you how very proud I am of you. I’m so glad that after all your hard work 2013 is going to be your year of Jubilee! When I read this an old hymn came to mind, “Little Is Much When God Is In It.” You have certainly kept God front and center during all this so your rewards are going to be great!! I can’t wait for the world to meet the Carrie we have all come to know and love over at OWG. Let’s hear it for the next award winning author…Carrie F. Pagels! ~loud applause~ 😀

  11. Carrie, you are such a blessing. May God grant you nothing but joy and laughter, for you have touched so many lives through your kindness. This is a great post, very encouraging.

  12. Dear Carrie – what a great and encouraging post! I get in late sometimes because of the time differences, you guys waking up just when I’m going to sleep, but I’m glad to have read this wonderful post with such very, wise, wise words. And this Aussie gal who still feels very much like a newbie is forever grateful to the lady of faith who gave me a chance to put those little steps into something much bigger! You believed in me before I had even come to that place. God bless you and all your wonderful writing – I can’t wait to hold a Carrie Pagels book in my hands!!

  13. I enjoy reading Civil War themed books. And to be honest, I don’t think I’ve come across anything that I didn’t like about the books. Sorry if that’s not what you wanted to hear. Thanks for having the giveaway!

  14. Carrie, I don’t think I’ve seen anything that needs to be left out of these books. I think they are well done. You really are a very sweet, thoughtful person, and I know it’s true from all of these comments. When I read this I thought of the scripture that says, as much” as you do for the least of these, you have done for me.” (Not exactly right). But it shows anytime we do good , he acknowledges it. I don’t know how you keep up with the many, many thing you do. Most people couldn’t. God empowers you, knowing what you do is pleasing to HIM. GOD bless you always, my friend. You are truly a blessing to others. I’m ready to win this PDF and read your story.
    OWG Maxie mac262(at)me(dot)com

    • MAXIE, I love seeing you here. You are such a blessing to me! Thanks you so very much for you kind words. Exactly–I have always LOVED that verse about what you’ve done for the least of these you have done for Me. Hugs!

  15. I don’t know about leaving anything out but I do think it would be interesting to find stories about women in the Civil War, the use of hot air balloons, the use of ships during the war, and the way some of the slaves reached or tried to reach freedom. Some time ago, I came across a book providing details about slaves in crates and barely alive when they reached their destination and other remarkable stories. I have not been able to find the book since and I have looked for a long time. Sadly, I cannot recall the title.

    • I hate when I have that happen, DEANNA! But I will pray that you find that book! This ebook does talk about women during the Civil War. I was fascinated by the Carter women of Shirley Plantation. Their bravery and fortitude inspired me to set my story there. I hope you will enjoy it because you are the WINNER in my drawing! And besides the PDF copy you will also receive a packet of lovely note cards from Shirley. Blessings and congrats!!!

Leave a Reply

