Carole Brown – Never, Never Give Up!

carole180Never, Never Give Up!

by Carole Brown

2012 started out with my determination to become published.

I was already going through a discouragement period, and I felt little change as the months passed. Tidbits of things should have given me a hint that change was in the air. Or maybe better said, in my heart.

Friends encouraged. One special friend figuratively sat me down (although actually we were standing for most of the conversation) and gave me a “talking to.” What did I take away from that?

Quit beating myself up.

I have talent; use it.

Believe in God.

I’ll have to admit, my faith was weak at this point. Yet I’ll have to admit too: I think I had to get into this “slough of despond” for God to gain my attention. I had to get to the point where all I could say was, “God, I believe. Help my unbelief.”

I put the words on my desktop. Every few days they would catch my attention. Every few days I’d repeat them like a mantra; a prayer from a heart with little faith.

Then a writing conference.
A meeting with an editor.
A manuscript request.
Work. Editing.
A send-in.
Waiting.
Waiting.
More waiting.
Calls from my agent. Emails.
Contact.
BIG News.
I’d been offered a contract.
December 17: date signed.
I became an author!

Elation. Happiness. Satisfaction. Relief.

All this.
And more.

Peace.

Because throughout this year I learned in my own way to let go and let God. My faith might be weak, but God is strong. My faith might be little, but God works through little and weak and deformed and broken.

I couldn’t make it happen, but God did. In his own time.

It’s his book, his novel, and whether he blesses it in a mighty way, or a small one, it is his.

Meet the Author:

Author Carole Brown’s debut novel, The Redemption of Caralynne Hayman, will hopefully be out by the end of 2013. She’s also published four children’s books that are used in Christian schools and VBS. She’s written various magazine articles, served as editor and co-editor of many newsletters, has helped to develop advertising brochures and has received several awards for her poems. She has a Bachelors Degree in Religious Education, an Associate in Computer Software and has completed several courses in fiction writing.

Carole is a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers, Romance Writers of America, Central Ohio Fiction Writers, Sisters In Crime, and the founder of Circle of Pens (a writing group to mentor beginning writers). She is the ACFWOhio coordinator, ACFW Bookclub discussion leader, a Suspense Zone reviewer, a member of the Barn Loft Interview Team, and runs her own blog site at http://sunnebnkwrtr.blogspot.com/ 

Carole lives in Ohio with her husband, and co-labors with her husband in ministry, nationally and internationally.

To connect with her, go here:

Blog: http://sunnebnkwrtr.blogspot.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/carole.brown.7315

Twitter: https://twitter.com/browncarole212

Soon to be Released:

The Redemption of Caralynne Hayman

  • Can Dayne’s prayers and love straddle the gulf of anger and bitterness Cara harbors before she goes too far to experience redemption?
  • A contemporary women’s fiction with strong elements of suspense and romance
  • Good for anyone who has been abused or for those dealing with abusive situations
  • A passionate book, not for the weak hearted, but for those who want to be reminded, touched, and stirred.

Contests:

I’m also holding at least one contest a month to promote the upcoming release of my book, The Redemption of Caralynne Hayman. Details can be seen at my blog if you’d like to join in the fun! http://sunnebnkwrtr.blogspot.com/ or on Facebook. January had THREE books as prizes; February had SIX different prizes; March’s had FIVE books.  

This entry was posted in Book and Movie Reviews, encouragement for writers, Guest Authors, Sharpening Our Writing by Tamera Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Kraft

Tamera Kraft has been a children’s pastor for over 20 years. She is the leader of a ministry called Revival Fire For Kids where she mentors other children’s leaders, teaches workshops, and is a children’s ministry consultant and children’s evangelist. She is also a writer and has curriculum published including Kid Konnection 5: Kids Entering the Presence of God published by Pathway Press. She is a recipient of the 2007 National Children’s Leaders Association Shepherd’s Cup for lifetime achievement in children’s ministry.

22 thoughts on “Carole Brown – Never, Never Give Up!

  1. I am so convinced that he uses our impatience to teach us so that we encourage others. God is good, in control, and ever knowing, all that we need and when. Thanks for the encouragement, Carole.

  2. Carole is one of those people who started on on the right foot, on the right path – she gathered a tribe, encouraged others along the way, and supported her fellow authors the best she knew how, all the while working on craft and smiling…great message!

  3. We’re aiming for a September release of Carol’s novel, the Redemption of Caralynne Hayman. In order to make her launch successful, Carol needs 100 Amazon reviews lined up before the book’s release.

    We are eager to send (in advance) NOOK (ePub), Kindle (mobi) and PDF galley copies. If a reviewer insist, we’ll also ship print ARCs (Advance Review Copies). In return we ask that each reviewer post a review on Amazon the day of the book’s release.

    Contact Carol if you would like to receive a copy in advance for review.

    Great job Carol, happy to have you as a Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas author.

  4. Carole,
    Congratulations on following through to your goal! Your post title, “Never, Never Give Up!” reminds me of Winston Churchill who said it with one more “never”. Blessings to you with your upcoming release!
    Donna Winters

    • Thanks, Karen, you’ve always been a dear friend! Jen, what a cheerleader you are. I value your friendship. Donna, I’ve admired you and your books for several years. Marlene, you touched my heart w/your empathy of the valley many writers go thru. God bless you in your ministry!

      And, dear Max, my friend and cp: God bless you! Only God knows how valuable your writing help and remarks have been to me!

      Love you all.

  5. As one of Carole’s crit partners, I had an opportunity to read an early draft of The Redemption of Caralynne Hayman. I am not a fan of women’s fiction, yet I read right through this novel because of Carole’s remarkable ability to build tension and suspense. The way Carole builds tension reminds me – in technique, not content – of a young Dean Koontz. Buy The Redemption of Caralynne Hayman for heavens sake – we complain about the corrupt culture and then refuse to support Christian artists, claiming we’re being “good stewards” when we’re really “muzzling the oxen.”
    God Speed Sister, Max
    Oh yeah, don’t give up either.

  6. I want to congratulate you and wish your novel great success, Carole. Reading about your journey was deja vu and then some. I was with you in those seemingly endless down times. The Scripture, “I believe, Lord help my unbelief”, brought the recollections acutely into focus. I’d been there and was there with you in spirit. You made it through the valley of the shadow of doubt, my friend. I commend your grit and commitment. May God bless your loving spirit.

Leave a Reply

