My WIP – Blog Hop Week 2

Last week I posted answers to questions about my current writing project. Since I have two projects, I thought it was only fair to answer the questions about my second WIP also. You can read about the first project here.

My original post follows after Linda Glaz’s blog post at http://lindaglaz.blogspot.com/. She’s my agent and has great insights into the writing business. Check her out.

Title: Alice’s Notions

Where did the idea come from?

My agent told her clients about a publisher who was looking for quilting novels. I always wanted to write a novel set in West Virginia, where my mom grew up, but didn’t think I had time for this. Lisa Lickel wanted to write a quilting novel but also didn’t have time. So we joined forces and are co-writing it.

Genre? Christian Historical

What actors would play your characters in a movie version? That’s easy because my main character, Alice, thinks about what movie star everyone reminds her of. She’s Judy Garland. Rick, the male lead, is Spencer Tracy.

Short Synopsis? Right after World War 2, Alice, a young war widow, returns to her hometown in Burning Bush, WV to open a sewing shop. She wants to help the town and also is looking for a way to support herself. She decides to have a quilting tour. But her mysterious neighbor, Rick, is against it. The whole town seems to have lost it’s mind when she goes forward with the tour. She learns things are not what they seem, and Rick is in the center of it all.

Agency Representation? Linda Glaz at Hartline Agency

How long did it take to write that first draft? Lisa Lickel and I are still writing it. We started in October.

What other books in this genre compare? I don’t know.

Any others in this genre? Red Sky Over America is about an abolitionist who goes home to try to convince her slave-owning father to free his slaves. Her love interest is preaching abolition in Kentucky. So more that a few sparks fly. Another historical novel I’ve written is Forks In the Road. It’s a young adult about two orphaned boys who grow up getting further away from God until they end up as bank and train robbers. I’ve also written a Christmas novella about the Moravians in Ohio during the 1700′s called A Christmas Promise. My agent is currently looking for a home for these completed novels.

Who or what inspired the WIP? My agent.

Anything to add? West Virginia was in the center of national security during and right after World War 2. I found that interesting, and it sparked some ideas for this novel. Sort of a light hearted suspense with a lot of romance when Communism was threatening the world.

Please stop by visit the following ladies’ blogs. They’re posting about their WIPs as well:

Archer Team Blog

Sunnybank Meanderings

Hope you enjoy these ladies’ blogs/websites, and hope you’ll stop back and visit again!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Tamera Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Kraft

Tamera Kraft has been a children’s pastor for over 20 years. She is the leader of a ministry called Revival Fire For Kids where she mentors other children’s leaders, teaches workshops, and is a children’s ministry consultant and children’s evangelist. She is also a writer and has curriculum published including Kid Konnection 5: Kids Entering the Presence of God published by Pathway Press. She is a recipient of the 2007 National Children’s Leaders Association Shepherd’s Cup for lifetime achievement in children’s ministry.

Leave a Reply

