Blog Hop – My WIP

Today I’m participating in a Blog Hop about what writing projects I’m working on!

My post follows after Linda Glaz’s blog post from last Wednesday, November 15th at http://lindaglaz.blogspot.com/. She’s my agent and has great insights into the writing business. Check her out.

Right now, I’m working on my Civil War novel and am co-writing a post-WW2 novel. This week I’m working on the Civil War novel, so I’ll answer the questions about that one. Next week, maybe I’ll fill you in on the other one.

Title: Lost In the Storm

Where did the idea come from?

I was reading about accomplished women in the nineteenth century, and Oberlin College kept popping up. When I did a little research, I found out that Oberlin College in Ohio was the first college to allow blacks and women before the Civil War. Graduates of Oberlin were involved in every social movement of the time including abolition, suffrage, prohibition, and the missionary movement of the late 1800s. In fact, 90% of all missionaries the American Bible Society sent out between 1860 and 1900 were Oberlin graduates. I became intrigued and decided to write a series of novels about three women roommates who graduated from Oberlin shortly before the Civil War. Each novel focuses on a different woman and a different movement. This one is set during the Civil War and features a woman involved in civil rights and equality for women.

Genre? Christian Historical

What actors would play your characters in a movie version? I’ve thought about that. My main female character would be Zooey Deschanel. The male lead would by Humphrey Bogart. I know he’s dead, but what can I do? I had Bogart in mind for this character all along.

Short Synopsis? Lavena Falcone is a journalist during the Civil War. She’s on a mission to interview a war hero she admires, Captain Cage Jones, who won the Congressional Medal of Honor. The problem is Captain Cage will not talk to any journalist. He’s hiding something, and if Lavena wants to keep her job, she needs to find out what it is.

Agency Representation? Linda Glaz at Hartline Agency

How long did it take to write that first draft? I’m still  writing it although I’m almost done. This took a lot of research and I had some other projects, so almost two years. I don’t normally take that long.

What other books in this genre compare? I’m not really sure. I do have strong women characters, and the historical setting is a big part of the story – so maybe Tamara Alexander.

Any others in this genre? My first novel in the Oberlin Series is Red Sky Over America about an abolitionist who goes home to try to convince her slave-owning father to free his slaves. Her love interest is preaching abolition in Kentucky. So more that a few sparks fly. Another historical novel I’ve written is Forks In the Road. It’s a young adult about two orphaned boys who grow up getting further away from God until they end up as bank and train robbers. I’ve also written a Christmas novella about the Moravians in Ohio during the 1700’s called A Christmas Promise. My agent is currently looking for a home for these completed novels.

Who or what inspired the WIP? Actually it was the historical research I was doing about accomplished women of the past. I’d have to say suffragettes and women preachers in the late 1800s inspired it.

Anything to add? I love writing about fictional characters caught up in historical events.

Please stop by visit the following ladies’ blogs on Wednesday, November 28th:

Archer Team Blog

Sunnybank Meanderings
Hope you enjoy these ladies’ blogs/websites, and hope you’ll stop back and visit again!

This entry was posted in encouragement for writers, Sharpening Our Writing by Tamera Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Kraft

Tamera Kraft has been a children’s pastor for over 20 years. She is the leader of a ministry called Revival Fire For Kids where she mentors other children’s leaders, teaches workshops, and is a children’s ministry consultant and children’s evangelist. She is also a writer and has curriculum published including Kid Konnection 5: Kids Entering the Presence of God published by Pathway Press. She is a recipient of the 2007 National Children’s Leaders Association Shepherd’s Cup for lifetime achievement in children’s ministry.

4 thoughts on “Blog Hop – My WIP

  1. Loved your post, Tamera! Historical writers are a fascinating bunch (but so are suspense writers–me! Oops sorry, about that!). Your books sound great; can’t wait to read them. Best!

  2. Pingback: My WIP – Blog Hop Week 2 | Word Sharpeners

Leave a Reply

