My Favorite Life Verse

Life verses from the Bible aren’t just verses that are favorite verses you like to quote. They’re verses God brings to your attention time and time again. These are verses that define your walk with God and change you in a vital way.

I thought today I would share my life verses. At some point in the future, I might share why these verses are so important to me. But for today, I’m just sharing the verses.

Isaiah 43:1-7 (NKJV) 
But now, thus says the Lord, who created you, O Jacob, And He who formed you, O Israel: “Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by your name; You are Mine.
When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; And through the rivers, they shall not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you
shall not be burned, Nor shall the flame scorch you.
For I am the Lord your God, The Holy One of Israel, your Savior; I gave Egypt for your ransom, Ethiopia and Seba in your place.
Since you were precious in My sight, You have been honored, And I have loved you; Therefore I will give men for you, And people for your life. 
Fear not, for I am with you; I will bring your descendants from the east, And gather you from the west;
I will say to the north, ‘Give them up!’ And to the south, ‘Do not keep them back!’ Bring My sons from afar, And My daughters from the ends of the earth—
Everyone who is called by My name, Whom I have created for My glory; I have formed him, yes, I have made him.”
Romans 12:1-2(NRSV)
I appeal to you therefore, brothers and sisters, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship.
Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your minds, so that you may discern what is the will of God—what is good and acceptable and perfect.
Psalms 37:4-5(NRSV) 
Take delight in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart.
Commit your way to the LORD; trust in him, and he will act.
Psalms 18:1-3(NRSV) 
I love you, O LORD, my strength.
The LORD is my rock, my fortress, and my deliverer, my God, my rock in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.
I call upon the LORD, who is worthy to be praised, so I shall be saved from my enemies.

Proverbs 3:5-6(NLT) 
Trust in the LORD with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding.
Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take.

Psalms 46:1-3(NRSV) 
God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.
Therefore we will not fear, though the earth should change, though the mountains shake in the heart of the sea; 
though its waters roar and foam, though the mountains tremble with its tumult. Selah

Psalms 119:105(NRSV) 
Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.
Psalms 91(NLT) 
Those who live in the shelter of the Most High will find rest in the shadow of the Almighty.
This I declare about the LORD: He alone is my refuge, my place of safety; he is my God, and I trust him.
For he will rescue you from every trap and protect you from deadly disease.
He will cover you with his feathers. He will shelter you with his wings. His faithful promises are your armor and protection.
Do not be afraid of the terrors of the night, nor the arrow that flies in the day.
Do not dread the disease that stalks in darkness, nor the disaster that strikes at midday. 
Though a thousand fall at your side, though ten thousand are dying around you, these evils will not touch you. 
Just open your eyes, and see how the wicked are punished.
If you make the LORD your refuge, if you make the Most High your shelter,
no evil will conquer you; no plague will come near your home.
For he will order his angels to protect you wherever you go.
They will hold you up with their hands so you won’t even hurt your foot on a stone. 
You will trample upon lions and cobras; you will crush fierce lions and serpents under your feet!
The LORD says, “I will rescue those who love me. I will protect those who trust in my name.
When they call on me, I will answer; I will be with them in trouble. I will rescue and honor them. 
I will reward them with a long life and give them my salvation.”

These are my life verses, the ones I turn to often when I am going through trials or need encouragement. What are your? Leave a comment and share your life verses.

This entry was posted in Devotions, Sharpened By the Word by Tamera Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Kraft

Tamera Kraft has been a children’s pastor for over 20 years. She is the leader of a ministry called Revival Fire For Kids where she mentors other children’s leaders, teaches workshops, and is a children’s ministry consultant and children’s evangelist. She is also a writer and has curriculum published including Kid Konnection 5: Kids Entering the Presence of God published by Pathway Press. She is a recipient of the 2007 National Children’s Leaders Association Shepherd’s Cup for lifetime achievement in children’s ministry.

One thought on “My Favorite Life Verse

  1. Philippians 1:6 — “Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ” — has been a great encouragement, as has Joshua 1:8,9 — “(8)This book of the law shall not depart out of thy mouth; but thou shalt meditate therein day and night, that thou mayest observe to do according to all that is written therein: for then thou shalt make thy way prosperous, and then thou shalt have good success. (9)Have not I commanded thee? Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed: for the LORD thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest.”

    I learned those verses waaaay back when the only Bible I had was the King James Version, and they were required for Sunday School and other religious education. I am grateful for the memory verses, because they have come to mind years later, just when they are needed.

Leave a Reply

