Top 10 Sci-fi TV Shows of All Time

I didn’t include anthologies such as Twilight Zone or Outer Limits in this list. I also didn’t include SteamPunk like Wild Wild West. All of these are great shows. I combined all the Star Treks into one because if I’d included them separately, there wouldn’t have been room for most of the others. I’ll include my Star Trek list in order of favorites next week.

Honorable Mentions: Max Headroom, Buck Rogers and the 25th Century, Six Million Dollar Man, Star Gate Series, X Factor, and Alien Nation

10. Mork and Mindy

1978-1982

Starring Robin Williams and Pam Dawber

Let’s be honest. This was one of the silliest shows ever on TV. It proved the genius of Robin Williams in the silliest of scripts and launched his career. NaNoo NaNoo!

9. Alf

1986-1990

Starring Mihaly ‘Michu’ Meszaros, Paul Fusco, and Max Wright

What can I say? I love silly sci-fi shows when they’re done right. This one was.

8. Time Tunnel

1966-1967

Starring Robert Colbert, Lee Meriwether, and James Darren

The science part and the special effects were laughable, but this was the first time travel TV Series. I learned a lot of history when I was a kid by watching this show. Besides it was fun to watch James Darren.

7. My Favorite Martian

1963-1966

Starring Ray Walston and Bill Bixby

This is the first TV show Bill Bixby starred in. When an alien lands, a reporter decides to shield him by introducing him as his uncle. This is one of the first comedy sci-fi TV shows.

6. Quantum Leap

1989-1993

Starring Scott Bakula and Dean Stockwell

Who didn’t root for Sam to make things right that had gone wrong?

5. V The Original

1983

Starring Mark Singer and Faye Grant

I didn’t miss one episode of this show even though I didn’t own a VCR. I was on the edge of my seat to see what happened next.

4. Lost In Space

1965-1968

Starring Guy Williams, June Lockhart, Mark Goddard, Marta Kristen, Angela Cartwright, Billy Mumy, and Jonathan Harris

You either loved this campy show or you hated it. I loved it.

3. Battlestar Gallactica

1980

Starring Lorne Green, Dirk Benedict, and Herb Jefferson Jr.

2004-2009

Starring Edward James Olmos, Mary McDonnell, and Jamie Bamber

You might ask me which one. Both deserve the number 3 spot, but I liked the earlier one with Lorne Greene. I listed the dates and actors for both.

2. Dr. Who

1963-2012

StarringWilliam Hartnell, Patrick Troughton, John Pertwee, Tom Baker, Peter Davidson, Colin Baker, Sylvester McCoy, Paul McGann, Christopher Eccleston, David Tennant, and Matt Smith

I’ll be honest. Although I lumped all the Star Treks together, only the original Star Trek Series nudges out Dr. Who for the number 1 spot, and that’s just barely. Dr. Who is awesome. Every doctor brought something different to the part, yet they were all The Doctor.

1. Star Trek Series

1966-1967

Starring William Shatner, Leonard Nimoy, and DeForrest Kelley

Since the original series is my favorite, I only listed the dates and actors for it. I remember watching it as a little girl when it was first on. I practiced holding in my emotions like Spock. You’ll have to wait a week to see which Star Trek gets my number 2 and number 3 spots. Neither one beats Dr. Who, but they would be number 3 & 4 on this list. I have always loved James T. Kirk. Star Trek is an icon of sci-fi series.

So do you think I got it right. What were your favorites?

This entry was posted in Lists and More Lists, Top 10 Lists, TV Shows Lists by Tamera Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Kraft

Tamera Kraft has been a children’s pastor for over 20 years. She is the leader of a ministry called Revival Fire For Kids where she mentors other children’s leaders, teaches workshops, and is a children’s ministry consultant and children’s evangelist. She is also a writer and has curriculum published including Kid Konnection 5: Kids Entering the Presence of God published by Pathway Press. She is a recipient of the 2007 National Children’s Leaders Association Shepherd’s Cup for lifetime achievement in children’s ministry.

Leave a Reply

