The Pawn by Steven James

The Pawn

by Steven James

First Novel of the Bowers File Series

Description:

Special Agent Patrick Bowers never met a killer he couldn’t catch. Until now.

Called to North Carolina to consult on the case of an area serial killer, Bowers finds himself caught in a deadly game of cat and mouse. Cunning and lethal, the killer is always one step ahead of the law, and he’s about to strike again. It will take all of Bowers’s instincts and training to stop the man who calls himself the Illusionist.

Thrilling, intense, and impossible to put down, The Pawn will hold you in its iron grip until the very last page.

Download an excerpt here.

Read about all the books in the series here.

My Review of The Bishop

My Review of The Queen

About the Author:

Award-winning Author of The Patrick Bowers Files

Steven James has penned 30+ books spanning the genres of psychological thrillers, prayer collections, dramas, monologues, a nine book series on creative storytelling, YA fantasy, and inspirational nonfiction.

He has received wide critical acclaim for his work including four Storytelling World Honor awards, two Publishers Weekly starred reviews, and 2009 and 2011 Christy Awards for best suspense. His latest thriller, The Queen, won a 2012 ECPA Book Award and is a finalist for three other 2012 writing awards: a Retailers Choice Award, a Christy Award, and an International Thriller Writers Award.

Steven earned a Master’s Degree in Storytelling from ETSU in 1997 and is an active member of International Thriller Writers, the Authors Guild, Mystery Writers of America, and International Association of Crime Writers.  He is a contributing editor to Writer’s Digest, and has taught writing and storytelling principles on three continents.

He lives in the foothills of the Smoky Mountains of Tennessee with his wife and three daughters. When he’s not writing or speaking, he’s rock climbing, playing disc golf, or (shh….) slipping away to a matinée.

My Review:  ♥  ♥  ♥  ♥  ♥

My obsession with Steven James began when I read his fourth novel in the Bowers File Series called The Bishop. I enjoy suspense and this novel gave me my fill of it. Then I read The Queen, and I became completely hooked. Usually when I start in the middle of a series of novels about the same character, I don’t bother to read the earlier novels because I pick up the background info with the novel I started reading. But like I said, I was hooked. I couldn’t wait until the final novel of the series came out. I needed more to feed my Patrick Bower Fix.

Now that I’ve read the first novel in the series, The Pawn, my fix has become an obsession. This novel is full of suspense, but it isn’t only a mystery or police drama. My heart broke for the struggles Bower and his daughter who he call Raven went through. They don’t feel like fictional characters to me. They feel like real people I’ve known doing the best they can through the trials of life. Christianity is brought into this FBI series in such a subtle way that is so much a part of everyday life that I would have noticed it if I hadn’t been looking for it. But the thread runs through the novels brilliantly as does the thread of the relationship between Bower and his stepdaughter, and his love life.

This novel will have you on the edge of your seat. I normally figure out suspense novels, but Steven James writes in a way that has me fooled every time, yet when I do find out the truth, I have a ah ha moment of “of course”. It couldn’t be anything else. Steven James is one of my three favorite authors. I can’t wait to read The Rook.

This entry was posted in Book and Movie Reviews, Book Fiction Reviews by Tamera Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Kraft

Tamera Kraft has been a children’s pastor for over 20 years. She is the leader of a ministry called Revival Fire For Kids where she mentors other children’s leaders, teaches workshops, and is a children’s ministry consultant and children’s evangelist. She is also a writer and has curriculum published including Kid Konnection 5: Kids Entering the Presence of God published by Pathway Press. She is a recipient of the 2007 National Children’s Leaders Association Shepherd’s Cup for lifetime achievement in children’s ministry.

2 thoughts on “The Pawn by Steven James

  1. Pingback: The Rook by Steven James | Word Sharpeners

  2. Pingback: Favorite Books I’ve Read in 2012 | Word Sharpeners

Leave a Reply

