My Favorites: Classic Sci-fi Novels

Here’s a list of my favorite classic science fiction novels in order.

1. The Time Machine by H.G. Wells (My favorite sci-fi book and my favorite sci-fi writer.)

2. War of the Worlds by H.G. Wells

3. 1984 by George Orwell (I can see some of this in our society today.)

4. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley (Same with this novel.)

5. The Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury (Brillant)

6. Farinheit 451 by Ray Bradbury (Chilling story.)

7. 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne (I love how Jules Verne is ahead of his time with the inventions in his stories.)

8. The Mysterious Island by Jules Verne

9. The Island of Dr. Moreau by Jules Verne

10. The Foundation Trilogy by Isaac Asimov (Great Series)

11. Journey to the Center of the Earth by Jules Verne (If you’ve seen the movies inspired by this story, you need to read the novel. None of the movies do it justice.)

12. Dune by Frank Herbert (A must read for sci-fi fans)

13. A Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams (Everyone I know either loves it or hates it. I love this comedy sci-fi novel.)

14. Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess (Interesting story about how far the government has a right to go to prevent crime.)

15. Logan’s Run by William F. Nolan and George Clayton Johnson (This novel was written in the sixties and show a future world where youth are in control and people are killed by their 21st birthday.)

So do you agree or disagree with my choices? Would you add any? Please comment.

This entry was posted in Book Lists, Lists and More Lists and tagged , by Tamera Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Kraft

Tamera Kraft has been a children’s pastor for over 20 years. She is the leader of a ministry called Revival Fire For Kids where she mentors other children’s leaders, teaches workshops, and is a children’s ministry consultant and children’s evangelist. She is also a writer and has curriculum published including Kid Konnection 5: Kids Entering the Presence of God published by Pathway Press. She is a recipient of the 2007 National Children’s Leaders Association Shepherd’s Cup for lifetime achievement in children’s ministry.

3 thoughts on “My Favorites: Classic Sci-fi Novels

  1. I love the 19th-century science fiction. Verne and Wells are two of my all-time favorite authors, and I’m glad to see them so well represented on your list.

    Here are a few books (not necessarily 19th-century) I’d add:

    Arthur Clark’s “Childhood’s end” was one I read many times growing up.

    Edgar Rice Burroughs’ “Mars” series (“Princess of Mars, etc.) and “Pellucidar” series (fronted by “At the Earth’s Core”) were also favorites. For a stretch of time, I ate Edgar Rice for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 🙂

    I still regularly re-read Asimov’s “I, Robot” (another one where the movie just doesn’t come anywhere close to the book, I opine).

    CS Lewis’ “Perelandra” trilogy came to me later in life but became an instant favorite, while Bradbury’s “Farenheit 451” has been a favorite of mine since junior high.

    Arthur Conan Doyle’s “Lost World” – who doesn’t like dinosaurs? (So I’d have Crichton’s “Jurassic Park” on my list as well. Well, to save time, I’d put most of Crichton on the list, especially “The Andromeda Strain”. 🙂

    I was also bred and buttered on many of the pulp short stories that came out of the 40’s, 50’s and 60’s (I was born halfway through the 60’s, so yes, these were also mostly before my time). I have several anthologies that I re-read every few years.

    Great list, Tamera!

    -Tony Lavoie

  2. Wow, this is a great list! I’ve read most of these myself. Chronicles of Amber and a Canticle to Leibowitz are a couple of others that you may consider someday. Thanks for sharing your list.

    Check out my first and recently released novel, Long Journey to Rneadal. This exciting story is a romantic action adventure in space.

  3. Pingback: Science Fiction Genre « Word Sharpeners

Leave a Reply

