A Redeemed Marriage

Last week was my 33rd wedding anniversary. My husband, Rick, is the most godly man I know and my best friend.

But it wasn’t always that way. When I married Rick, I was a Christian, he wasn’t. Through the first sixteen years of my marriage, he drank too much, was emotionally abusive and controlling, and did everything he could to stop me from getting closer to God. One day he ordered me to stay home from church or he said he wouldn’t be there when I got back. I left with the kids and went to church. He was there when I got back.

You may wonder why I stayed in a marriage like that. It wasn’t easy. A couple of years after I married Rick, I repented for being out of the will of God and marrying an unbeliever, and I asked God to save him and my marriage. God promised me that if I would stay, He would save Rick. Not only would He save him, but it would be like when the apostle Paul was saved.

So I stayed, and I prayed. I anointed my doors with oil, and I did everything I knew to do. The longer it went on, the meaner Rick got. I was to my breaking point.

Then suddenly, after 16 years of marriage, my husband decided to go to church with me. When the altar call was given, he went forward. He says that at this point, a flash of light appeared. When he reached the altar, he fell to the ground hard. While lying on the floor, he gave his life to God. When he got up finally, he began praying for other people.

He’s never been the same. Since then, he’s been the best husband, father, and Christian I know. He stopped drinking that week and started being kind and considerate to me and our children. He never misses church, and he ministers to and prays for everyone he meets. His voice even changed. He had a voice activated car phone, but it wouldn’t recognise him unless he talked gruff to it.

So what miracle has God done in your life? Nothing is impossible with God.

This entry was posted in Devotions, Sharpened By the Word by Tamera Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Kraft

Tamera Kraft has been a children’s pastor for over 20 years. She is the leader of a ministry called Revival Fire For Kids where she mentors other children’s leaders, teaches workshops, and is a children’s ministry consultant and children’s evangelist. She is also a writer and has curriculum published including Kid Konnection 5: Kids Entering the Presence of God published by Pathway Press. She is a recipient of the 2007 National Children’s Leaders Association Shepherd’s Cup for lifetime achievement in children’s ministry.

2 thoughts on “A Redeemed Marriage

  1. I am greatly encouraged by your testimony. After 18 years of marriage, a life threatening diagnosis, 6 months prior to my husband leaving me and the two kids, I gave my life to Christ. 2 months after his departure, I heard the Lord say “I will heal this”. Daily, I pray for his soul, for God to save him “like Paul”, for Christ to be at the center of our lives, for our marriage to restored for His Glory. The divorce went through, trial after trial occurred and continues 6 years later. Daily, often multiple times a day, I pray for his soul and that the wicked relationship that he ran to will be severed. The broken hearted children were left for me to pick up the pieces. BUT God supplied Christian radio, His word, a strong church, learning how to follow Christ, rather than our own fleshly desires. He helps us lay our burdens down, to love one another, to forgive as He has forgiven, to pray for those who spitefully use you, to walk in His light, to trust in HIM and HIM alone and that all things will work for good to those who love HIM… recently, after a great victory, the enemy came to steal and destroy. I recognized the spiritual battle, yet the pain was deep and great. This recent attack makes me want to stop praying, yet I know I must continue to contend as I have been called to pray for all the non believers in my life (my whole family! especially my old husband, I hate the word x!. Yet I ready your story this morning and once again am encouraged, the Lord is on the throne, NOTHING IS IMPOSSIBLE for HIM! Thank you for your testimony and for encouraging me to press on and continue to pray, even though it has been 12 years (6 as a real Born again Christian) that I have been praying for this situation. Many think I should “let it go”, but i know I heard the Lord say “He will HEAL it”, so I press on and wait for His timing, against all odds.

  2. Pingback: 30 Day Life Challenge Day 18 | Word Sharpeners

Leave a Reply

