My Favortie Christmas Song

Share

I love Christmas. One of my favorite things about Christmas is the music you only get to hear this time of year. I love Christmas music, and I have a lot of favorite. “Mary Did You Know”, “Hark the Herald Angels Sing”, “One Small Child”, “Joy To the World”, and “Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire” all rank among my favorites. I also love “Grandma Got Run Over By a Reindeer”. Did I mention I love Christmas songs.

There is one song that outshines the rest, “Breathe of Heaven”. Every time I hear it I get a lump in my throat. This song reminds me that Mary was a simple girl in a dangerous time. She didn’t know what was going to happen, but she knew if she said yes to God, she would go through trials and that her reputation and her life would be in danger.

Mary could have been stoned. Joseph and her family could have rejected her. She could have been robbed and left for dead on the way to Bethlehem. She would have to deliver her first child without her mother or the help of the women in her village at a time when childbirth was a leading cause of death among women. After the delivery, Mary and Joseph had to flee to Egypt to protect their newborn child. Then there was the constant worry of how do you raise the Son of God.

But knowing all that, listen to Mary’s response when God told her what He had planned for her in Luke 1:38. Then Mary said, “Behold the maidservant of the Lord! Let it be to me according to your word.”

Some have suggested that the reason Mary was chosen among the eligible descendants of David was because she was willing. She trusted God even if it cost her everything. There’s a lot of truth in that. As you listen to this song, pay attention to the lyrics, especially this part. This says it all.

Do you wonder as you watch my face
If a wiser one one should have had my place
But I offer all I am
For the mercy of your plan
Help me be strong
Help me be
Help me

 

This Christmas season, are you willing to say yes to the Lord no matter the cost? Are you willing to be a Mary?

This entry was posted in Devotions, Sharpened By the Word by Tamera Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Kraft

Tamera Kraft has been a children’s pastor for over 20 years. She is the leader of a ministry called Revival Fire For Kids where she mentors other children’s leaders, teaches workshops, and is a children’s ministry consultant and children’s evangelist. She is also a writer and has curriculum published including Kid Konnection 5: Kids Entering the Presence of God published by Pathway Press. She is a recipient of the 2007 National Children’s Leaders Association Shepherd’s Cup for lifetime achievement in children’s ministry.

Leave a Reply

