Casting Anxiety For My Children

 Share

My daughter, Veronica

When our children are young, we sometimes think that if we can just manage to get them to a responsible adulthood where they are on their own, we’ll be able to rest easy. But when they reach adulthood and struggle with the trials of life, that’s when a mom’s worry really shifts into overdrive.

When they’re children, we can tell them what to do and where to go. We can tell them who they can hang out with. We can even lock them in their rooms if needed to keep them safe.

But when our children become adults, we can’t protect them any more. We can’t control their choices. We can’t choose their friends. And we can’t lock them in their rooms. What makes matters worse, we can’t protect them from other people who will hurt them. All we can do is pray.

I have two adult children who sometimes go through difficult times. It’s so hard seeing that happen. I lose sleep over it. I worry and fret – and pray. But God wants me to do more than that. He wants me to give my children to Him. It’s not easy. I’d rather go through anything than watch my children go through it without being able to do anything.

A few days ago when I was praying for my adult daughter who is going through a trial, I cried out to God that this is my child. God gently reminded me that she is His child too.

Wow. What a revelation. I can’t do anything to help my children, but I can put them in the hands of a loving God who cares for them even more than I do. So Lord, I give You my children. Protect them and take care of them as only You can. Sometimes I have to give them to God twenty times in a day because I keep taking them back. But God is in control, so I’ll keep giving them back to Him.

1 Peter 5:7 (NRSV) Cast all your anxiety on him, because he cares for you. 

He cares for your children too.

This entry was posted in Devotions, Family Sharpeners, Life Sharpeners, Sharpened By the Word by Tamera Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Kraft

Tamera Kraft has been a children’s pastor for over 20 years. She is the leader of a ministry called Revival Fire For Kids where she mentors other children’s leaders, teaches workshops, and is a children’s ministry consultant and children’s evangelist. She is also a writer and has curriculum published including Kid Konnection 5: Kids Entering the Presence of God published by Pathway Press. She is a recipient of the 2007 National Children’s Leaders Association Shepherd’s Cup for lifetime achievement in children’s ministry.

2 thoughts on “Casting Anxiety For My Children

  1. I hear your heart, and as a mom who has a 30 year old son and a 27 year old daughter, I get it. Tears have attacked my face. It hurts to think of her hurting, but God hasn’t let go of her. I’ll be praying for her and for you.

Leave a Reply

