My Experiences at the Women of Faith Conference

I went to my first Women of Faith Conference last weekend, and I was blown away by it. I’m not sure which I loved more.

Henry Cloud spoke on getting stuck and what we need to do to get to the promised land. He also talked about a study with monkeys that showed their stress level would be cut in half if they had another monkey in the cage with them. I determined at that point to make sure I’m a monkey to others and that I always have monkeys around me.

Sheila Walsh shared her story about her mental breakdown. It was heartbreaking, but it also showed me, no matter what I’m going through, the Shepherd knows where to find me.

Lisa Harper was so funny when she talked about how we can see things differently than they really are.

Angie Smith shared her heart when she talked about having to bury her baby girl who died two hours after birth. She shared about the lesson she learned from Peter. When he began to sink, he could have tried to get back to the boat where the seasoned fishermen who know how to swim were waiting to rescue him. Instead he cried out to Jesus who really is our only hope.

Luci Swindall talked about pursuing our dreams and living an abundant life.

Then there was the music. I’m not sure which I loved more: the Women of Faith Worship team leading praise and worship, Mary Mary in concert, Natalie Grant singing “Your Great Name”, or Sheila Walsh hitting the rafters as she fell to her knees singing “How Great Thou Art”. All I know is I felt the presence of God in a strong way.

This is not the typical women’s conference. God spoke to me at this conference, and it changed me in a profound way. This won’t be my last Women of Faith Conference.

This entry was posted in Ministries, Sharpened By the Word by Tamera Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Kraft

Tamera Kraft has been a children’s pastor for over 20 years. She is the leader of a ministry called Revival Fire For Kids where she mentors other children’s leaders, teaches workshops, and is a children’s ministry consultant and children’s evangelist. She is also a writer and has curriculum published including Kid Konnection 5: Kids Entering the Presence of God published by Pathway Press. She is a recipient of the 2007 National Children’s Leaders Association Shepherd’s Cup for lifetime achievement in children’s ministry.

Leave a Reply

