Where Were You On 9/11?

Share

A couple of days before 9/11, my son who had just gotten married in July called to tell us his new wife was leaving him for a married man with children. She would move out on Tuesday, 9/11. I tried to get a flight to Tennessee, where he lived that Tuesday morning, and couldn’t. I mean I literally couldn’t book the flight on the computer. Something blocked it. Now I know it was God. I would have been stuck in an airport and wouldn’t have made it in time. Then it was just weird.

Since I couldn’t fly down, my husband drove down on Monday. I got a flight for the following week. Tuesday morning I watched the news while I waited for my husband to call and let me know if my son’s ex-wife was there yet and how he was holding up and I saw the planes hit. The world seemed to be collapsing while my son’s life and marriage did. The towers fell while my son’s wife moved her stuff out.

After the planes hit the towers, I realized I hadn’t woke up my daughter and she was sleeping though this. She was a junior in high school and homeschooled. I woke her up and told her what happened. She wondered to the TV and said, “Oh, I thought you were talking about a movie.” At that point it seemed so surreal.

A plane was headed to the Pentagon and I remembered my cousin has an office there. He’s a private software contractor but his only client is the Pentagon. The plane crashed through my cousin’s office and killed his secretary (his kid’s SS teacher). He’s alive because an hour earlier, he was called away for an emergency meeting at another location.

Then I heard about flight 91 in Pennsylvania and how fighter jets had been called to chase it down. At that moment, the whole house rumbled as jets flew over our house. I knew it was the fighter jets because the planes had been grounded.

A year later, I went on a missions trip to New York. I saw Ground Zero. It looked like a bomb had hit it. I also read the messages at Grand Central Station. I didn’t cry until I read one message. “Daddy, I miss you. I’ll see you in Heaven. Love, Veronica.” My daughter’s name is Veronica.

By the way, I did fly down to see my son six days after 9/11. My son married 6 months later to a girl he met when he came home to recover. She is a sweetheart. They’ve been married 11 years and have two sons. God restores what evil destroys.

So what’s your story. Leave it in the comments.

This entry was posted in Devotions, Sharpened By the Word by Tamera Kraft. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tamera Kraft

Tamera Kraft has been a children’s pastor for over 20 years. She is the leader of a ministry called Revival Fire For Kids where she mentors other children’s leaders, teaches workshops, and is a children’s ministry consultant and children’s evangelist. She is also a writer and has curriculum published including Kid Konnection 5: Kids Entering the Presence of God published by Pathway Press. She is a recipient of the 2007 National Children’s Leaders Association Shepherd’s Cup for lifetime achievement in children’s ministry.

One thought on “Where Were You On 9/11?

  1. My husband was in the air aboard an American Airlines flight headed to LAX. When they closed US air space, after the third plane hit the Pentagon, his was grounded at a small airport in Omaha, NE. It took him six days to find a way home where I waited with our five young children (8, 6, 4, 3 and 6 months), immensely grateful he was OK, and deeply, overwhelmingly humbled because so many others were not.

Leave a Reply

